Chevron Left
Back to Advanced R Programming

Advanced R Programming, Johns Hopkins University

4.3
336 ratings
86 reviews

About this Course

This course covers advanced topics in R programming that are necessary for developing powerful, robust, and reusable data science tools. Topics covered include functional programming in R, robust error handling, object oriented programming, profiling and benchmarking, debugging, and proper design of functions. Upon completing this course you will be able to identify and abstract common data analysis tasks and to encapsulate them in user-facing functions. Because every data science environment encounters unique data challenges, there is always a need to develop custom software specific to your organization’s mission. You will also be able to define new data types in R and to develop a universe of functionality specific to those data types to enable cleaner execution of data science tasks and stronger reusability within a team....

Top reviews

By FZ

Jun 07, 2017

Very useful, I considered myself quite an advanced R user, but this class raised the level, especially with the R as OOB part. Good investment if you are not a beginner.

By JY

May 08, 2017

It is a good course that forced me to understand the s3 and s4 object of R and have gained an appreciation of "methods belonging to functions not belonging to objects".

Filter by:

82 Reviews

By Ankai Xu

Dec 13, 2018

I find that some of the course materials are not sufficient for the learners to understand the concept in R programming and complete the assignment. The course could be improved by including more examples and hands-on exercises.

By Lance Dooley

Dec 01, 2018

This course helped the programmer understand some OO concepts and many other features of R that I may not have encountered. Very good, and the final assignment was good. It was worth putting the extra time in to do it correctly.

By Erich F Gruhn

Nov 28, 2018

I learned a lot and appreciate the continued learnings.

By sokal1456

Nov 19, 2018

I wish the assignments could be a mix of teacher and peer graded.

By Frank Azadi Namin

Nov 17, 2018

I have taken several courses on Coursera and this was by far the worst. First the course contained no lectures. The authors had basically copied segments of their textbooks along with code samples as teaching material. I could have done better by simply reading the textbook myself without paying for the course. Finally the way the final assignment is graded is terrible. It is as if the course organizers have completely washed their hands of any responsibility. You have to grade three peers so that your assignment will get in line to be graded. But there is no time line and the process is completely arbitrary. Students have to actively seek others on the class forum to grade their assignment (they will return the favor ). I really expected more from a course offered by JHU.

By ®γσ, Eng Lian Hu

Nov 09, 2018

Cheerful

By Hayden MacDonald

Oct 04, 2018

Much of this course is well-constructed, well-communicated and clear. Sections from weeks 1-3 were attuned to my programming skill level and the material was communicated generally so that those with experience in other languages could also follow along easily. I had no technical problems with submitting assignments or quizzes and I found the assignments with swirl to be effective in reinforcing the material from the readings. My biggest criticism of this course is about Week 4's content and its respective part in the final assignment. The content in Week 4 concerns Object-Oriented programming and this material was really hard to absorb. It seemed to come out of left field and the readings did not feel as clear as they were in other sections. The readings essentially say "Here is what object-oriented programming allows you to do [create/manipulate classes and objects]" but then goes back on itself by recommending that you do not use object-oriented programming to create custom classes or data structures because the R community already knows what data structures they like. Personally, I had a lot of trouble understanding this content because it was so briefly explained. This did not help me by the time I had to complete the object-oriented programming portion of the final assignment. It is very clear from the class forums that other students have found that section of the assignment particularly difficult for years. Overall, this course was excellent in teaching functional programming principles and application, but the object-oriented section slightly spoiled my experience of the course.

By Nicolás Corthorn

Sep 22, 2018

It is a short and good R course. It goes right to the more advanced stuff. Even a long time user of R will learn new things. The final project is revised by the same students which in my opinion makes it more of a challenge. I've never wanted a homework to be as perfect as this one.

By Kevin Kluck

Sep 06, 2018

Great course. Challenging and I learn a lot of new techniques to improve my R skills.

By Landry N EDI

Aug 20, 2018

The style of these courses is not engaging. This is self study, similar to getting a book and reading.