Chevron Left
Back to Advanced Writing

Advanced Writing, University of California, Irvine

4.7
595 ratings
132 reviews

About this Course

Course 3: Advanced Writing This is the third course in the Academic English: Writing specialization. By raising your level of academic writing, this course helps prepare you for college-level work. After completing this course, you will be able to: - plan and write a more sophisticated argument essay - identify plagiarism and explain how to prevent it - read and analyze several articles to form your own opinion on a topic - make connections between several articles - form thesis statements from your readings - use sources effectively when writing an essay Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

By DB

Aug 17, 2016

An absolutely wonderful course! I learned a lot about advanced essay writing. I think it is a must-take course for those who are interested in writing academic and research essays!

By MA

Jan 02, 2018

One of the best courses I have taken by far. Everything from the videos to assignments is amazing and informative. It has helped me tremendously. I encourage everyone to take it.

Filter by:

127 Reviews

By Zafar Iqbal

Dec 03, 2018

Thank you very much again.

I am thank full for coursers that create this cite .this is very good and leaning cite for every one.

By Miriam Ruiz Arias

Dec 01, 2018

There are useful courses to adquire skills to write academic texts.

By Iqra Khan

Nov 22, 2018

This course was very helpful in honing my essay writing skills and I would definitely recommend it to other learners.

By Husam Eldeen Adam Mohammed Ibraheem

Nov 10, 2018

this course bring the most of you, I mean really test your patients to write and that what every early-stage writer would need.

By Nida Javaid

Nov 06, 2018

its an excellent course which really improved my writing skills.good work by the team.all videos and material is really helpful and informative.thanks to the team.

By Tan Joo Fu

Nov 03, 2018

Helpful!

By Wayne Li

Oct 28, 2018

1) Course content not systematic and sophisticated enough.

2) The lecturer seems not qualified or knowledgeable enough about the course topic. e.g. Regarding the MLA Works Cited format, she only gave some limited examples, without explaining it clearly.

3) The quiz’s are not designed well, for the course owner simply copied a number of existing flash/video quiz’s embedded in between the lectures, which are not of high quality. Besides, the quiz’s at the end of each lecture are to short and too facile/easy.

4) The course depends hugely on peer review, but I don't get as much as I expected from it, partly because the grading standards are not well designed.

By FARKHANDA IJAZ

Oct 26, 2018

Really, it was fruitful and awesome course

By Yi Duan

Aug 09, 2018

Very good course!

By Alejandro Restrepo

Jul 23, 2018

It's awesome! :D Very helpful in my writing process! :D