Chevron Left
Back to Age of Cathedrals

Age of Cathedrals, Yale University

4.6
111 ratings
35 reviews

About this Course

An introduction to some of the most astonishing architectural monuments the world has ever known—Gothic cathedrals. We shall study the art, literature, intellectual life, economics, and new social arrangements that arose in the shadow of the cathedrals and that were such an important part of the revival of cities in the twelfth and thirteenth centuries. The goal of the course is a better appreciation of the High Middle Ages, a world that is still recognizably our own....

Top reviews

By AK

Jan 25, 2018

Very interesting and well worth my time taking this course. I helped me appreciate not only the significance of the cathedrals, but the thinking and motivation of the medieval people.

By JC

Jul 11, 2018

A truly sublime course that takes you on a remarkable journey of discovery, in the safe and knowledgeable hands of our eminent guide, Howard Bloch Sterling Professor of French.

Filter by:

35 Reviews

By Marcela Roldan Vallejo

Nov 28, 2018

Excellent course, congratulations.

By Montserrat Aguilera Vives

Nov 13, 2018

Of all the courses i saw here this will be especially in my heart. Really fascinating. Thank you.

By Christine Rinck

Sep 16, 2018

Beautiful and full of information Have recommended it to others.

By Michael Barnes

Jul 12, 2018

Outstanding course that I have recommended to others with similar interests to mine.

By john coveney

Jul 11, 2018

A truly sublime course that takes you on a remarkable journey of discovery, in the safe and knowledgeable hands of our eminent guide, Howard Bloch Sterling Professor of French.

By Joanna Sankey

Jun 28, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. It was so interesting.

By ALEXANDRA CATHERINE ABLEY

Jun 13, 2018

Lots of peer assessment but a very informative and enjoyable course!

By jordi olaria jane

Apr 23, 2018

learnt a lot of things about medieval cathedrals, specially from saint Louis life.

By Edwin P. Christmann

Apr 17, 2018

This course was excellent! I highly recommend it!

By Catherine Scheib

Apr 16, 2018

A little heavy on French history, but very interesting. I’m not a fan of peer reviews, and this has plenty of them, but at least the grades were a combination of quizzes and peer reviews.