Chevron Left
Back to Age of Cathedrals

Age of Cathedrals, Yale University

4.6
137 ratings
44 reviews

About this Course

An introduction to some of the most astonishing architectural monuments the world has ever known—Gothic cathedrals. We shall study the art, literature, intellectual life, economics, and new social arrangements that arose in the shadow of the cathedrals and that were such an important part of the revival of cities in the twelfth and thirteenth centuries. The goal of the course is a better appreciation of the High Middle Ages, a world that is still recognizably our own....

Top reviews

By CL

Jan 08, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I learned so much about cathedrals and their history. The professor was engaging, the forums were lively, and the imagery and music was beautiful and inspirational.

By DJ

Apr 05, 2019

Thank you soo much for providing this great course online. I am almost at the finish line, and it’s been a great learning experience for me soo far. Thank you Coursera :), and Yale University.

Filter by:

44 Reviews

By Don Juan

Apr 05, 2019

Thank you soo much for providing this great course online. I am almost at the finish line, and it’s been a great learning experience for me soo far. Thank you Coursera :), and Yale University.

By Natalia

Mar 19, 2019

I was really exited about the cource, and now going to visit France to see everything I have heard about! Thank you a lot!

By

Mar 17, 2019

Loved the details regarding architecture and sociology, during a time of important transformations in human history.

By Lillianne del Hoyo Gil

Mar 15, 2019

Amazing course and amazing professor

By MªJesús Fernández Méndez

Mar 08, 2019

Great course.

By wei li

Feb 18, 2019

I really enjoyed the course. Thank you Dr. Bloch.

By Carol Lee

Jan 08, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I learned so much about cathedrals and their history. The professor was engaging, the forums were lively, and the imagery and music was beautiful and inspirational.

By Agnes Goyvaerts

Dec 24, 2018

I've enjoyed every minute of this course, 'The Age of Cathedrals' I would recommend it to anyone interested to learn more about Medieval history and architecture even if it is only a beginners course. It is wonderfully put together. Really very interesting, and we were well looked after by the mentors. Many thanks again to organisers, mentors and fellow students.

By Hervé Boublil

Dec 21, 2018

Un grand bravo au Pr Howard Bloch pour avoir su rendre ce cours enrichissant tout restant divertissant.

By Marcela Roldan Vallejo

Nov 28, 2018

Excellent course, congratulations.