Chevron Left
Back to AIDS: Fear and Hope

AIDS: Fear and Hope, University of Michigan

4.8
207 ratings
55 reviews

About this Course

The basic biology of the virus, HIV, and the disease it causes, AIDS. The economic, social and political factors that determine who gets sick and who remains healthy, who lives and who dies. The progress of scientific research and medical treatments. The reasons for hope; the reasons for fear. (To get a glimpse of some of the materials that students have been posting on the course forums, go to @AIDSFAH or #AIDSFAH.)...

Top reviews

By HP

Nov 27, 2016

I thank Dr. Meisler, and everyone else involved in this course for their excellent work and for enabling me to obtain the knowledge that I have acquired studying this course. Well done.

By TS

Feb 01, 2016

Amazing course! It opens our mind to the world in which all people are equal nonetheless what disease they have. Everyone should consider taking this course.

Filter by:

52 Reviews

By Roxanne Juneau

Sep 05, 2018

I Really enjoyed this course. It was well taught and easy to follow and understand.

By Akhilesh Jayaram

Aug 23, 2018

It was a very educative experience to understand the science and the social context of HIV/AIDS. The interviews with different people made the course feel more personal and humanized the disease, rather than simply presenting it as a medical problem to be researched on. The lived experiences of people give us hope.

By Joseph Solis

May 07, 2018

This course would give you a comprehensive approach to HIV and AIDS. You will learn a lot about this history of the epidemic, the stigma associated with it, the political forces around the world that were involved and what their response was, and the academic literature in terms of research and treatment available. I loved it!

By Eliana Toranza

Apr 18, 2018

The lecturer is simply outstanding and the interviews are really insightful. I've learned so much more than I expected.

By luqman mahmood

Mar 19, 2018

this course is awesome and i recommend it to everyone

By MARTHA PAPADOPOULOU

Mar 04, 2018

Excellent work!!

By LUIS ESTEBAN GARCIA GONZALEZ

Jan 19, 2018

Amazing!

By Roshan Nepal

Oct 13, 2017

Extremely useful course. Thank you Univ of Michigan for the course. :-)

By Paula Emilia Maureira Martínez

Sep 27, 2017

Creo que es un excelente curso introductorio para dar a conocer la infección,

el orador me gustó mucho!

By samar mehyar

Aug 18, 2017

very informative, talks about the social and scientific sides of AIDS from the beginning till this present day