Chevron Left
Back to Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles

Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles, University of Alberta

4.8
484 ratings
137 reviews

About this Course

Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles is a four-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the evolutionary changes that occur when air-breathing terrestrial animals return to water. This course examines the diversity, adaptations, convergence, and phylogenetic relationships of extinct marine reptiles. Students will explore three major groups of marine reptiles: ichthyosaurs, plesiosaurs, and mosasaurs. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-marine-reptiles...

Top reviews

By JC

Apr 02, 2016

An excellent introduction to the sometimes overlooked marine predators that lived alongside the dinosaurs! A lot of detail is presented here, so be prepared to act like a sponge and soak it all up.

By TO

Jun 21, 2016

I thought this would be a fun simple class, but I DID NOT know anything about marine reptiles, and it showed. I learned a lot and this instruction was very helpful and very educational.

Filter by:

131 Reviews

By D.t. Vino

Feb 05, 2019

great stuff!

By Clotilde Dufournet

Feb 02, 2019

Great course, interesting topics and explanations, thanks !

By Yoga Rajamani

Jan 26, 2019

this was super fun and the attached readings made it easier to do when wifi wasn't available

By Jose Pablo Lizana Perez

Jan 14, 2019

Very good, is very interesting and thanks for all.

By Victoria Zoll

Jan 13, 2019

Really enjoyed the course. It's not hard to keep up with, but does take you beyond a nature documentary level of detail. Excellent instructor too, very clear and enthusiastic. I really wish they would offer a course like this on pterosauria too.

By Harshitha

Nov 28, 2018

An awesome experience about the Ancient Marine Reptiles!

By Jeremy Birch

Nov 25, 2018

I really enjoyed this this course and i learnt so much from it.

By Liza van Gelderen

Oct 23, 2018

Very interesting, thanks and love from the Netherlands

By Talita Stradioti Begiato

Oct 19, 2018

A maioria dos vídeos estavam com as legendas em inglês fora de sincronia. Do restante, ótimo curso

By Bruno Leite Pereira Costa

Aug 15, 2018

This course was great! Lots of information regarding the evolutionary history, stratigraphy, biology of these ancient marine reptiles, etc. I would definetely recommend the course. I've learned a lot, thank you!