Chevron Left
Back to Programming Mobile Applications for Android Handheld Systems: Part 1

Programming Mobile Applications for Android Handheld Systems: Part 1, University of Maryland, College Park

4.6
539 ratings
160 reviews

About this Course

This course introduces you to the design and implementation of Android applications for mobile devices. You will develop an app from scratch, assuming a basic knowledge of Java, and learn how to set up Android Studio, work with various Activities and create simple user interfaces to make your apps run smoothly....

Top reviews

By NS

Jun 27, 2018

Very well explained, though content could've been updated (considering code versions to keep up with new versions of Android where Permissions are required to be accepted during running the app).

By EG

Jun 02, 2016

Very good courser, not for beginners certainly. Funny videos and easy to understand and gives you asignments that let you think about it and research so you understand better the assignments

Filter by:

154 Reviews

By Peter Chastain

Jan 26, 2019

Paid for this course a couple of years ago and finished it with no real problems but didn't use what I'd learned nor did I continue with the next course. I decided to retake this class to brush up so I could take Part 2. However, the course material hasn't been updated to keep pace with the changes to Android and Android Studio. Assignment projects don't import properly and deprecated classes are being used instead of their replacements. I managed to update my original final project (ModernArtUI) to current standards and have decided that I'm better off (and will learn more) by continuing by myself.

By Swastik Rath

Jan 16, 2019

good for android students

By Gouri Bargi

Jan 08, 2019

Very well presented, very hands on course. Only problem I faced was due to the examples being a bit dated, needed to tweak these to work in the latest Android Studio setup. (Did I miss out on downloading the latest examples?)

By Gerardo Surchi

Dec 09, 2018

Este curso tiene un gran balance entre tiempo de videos, material y detalle de las explicaciones. Una vez terminado si se fue honesto a uno mismo, se adquieren conocimientos básicos suficientes para que el desarrollo sobre android no sea un misterio.

By Robin Martin

Nov 09, 2018

The course is becoming dated. Some of the current tutorial and lab items will not work in 2019.

By Mateus Rocha Pinto

Sep 10, 2018

I've found an excellent content about Android development, the Professor Adam Porter is amazing, so I think the improvement that i had acquired is so valuable.

By Yuriy Shinkar (Egor Tverdokhleb)

Aug 22, 2018

not bad course, but i think its not enough information about Android OS, need to improve.

By

Aug 22, 2018

thanks very much , your great

By Jordi Grant Esteve

Aug 11, 2018

One of the best courses ever. I highly recommend it.

By Ali Hamdan A. Asiri

Jul 17, 2018

Very clear explanation

Great style in providing information

Amazing selection of topics

Thanks