Chevron Left
Back to Android App Components - Intents, Activities, and Broadcast Receivers

Android App Components - Intents, Activities, and Broadcast Receivers, Vanderbilt University

4.1
270 ratings
73 reviews

About this Course

This 4 week MOOC builds upon the overview of Java and Android covered in Course 1 by delving deeper into core Android app components, such as intents, activities, and broadcast receivers. You will learn by example how to program these core Android components together with Android concurrency frameworks and basic Java file I/O classes (such as File and InputStream) and Android storage mechanisms (such as Shared Preferences). You'll also learn how to use the Git source code management system. Throughout this MOOC you'll work incrementally on a project involving downloading, storing, and display images from remote websites. Each week you will add additional capabilities to the project, based on material covered in the lecture videos. You'll spend roughly 4 hours per week watching video lectures, taking quizzes, and programming assignments with Java and Android....

Top reviews

By AT

Oct 08, 2018

Very good examples, I recomend taking the optional homework if you can. I couldn't take every but you can learn a lot from this course.

By CK

Sep 17, 2017

I really appreciate this course, too good to understand the android framework fundamentals and how they work together.\n\nThanks.

Filter by:

71 Reviews

By Rajatendu Dey

Dec 17, 2018

Understanding this course was really difficult.Should have used easier techniques to teach students.

By Eric Van Der Dijs

Nov 28, 2018

It is a good course to understand how Android's internals work, but wich could be complemented with the google's android developer course

By Victor Toriansky

Nov 17, 2018

Module 2 (Git) was bad.

By Ekansh Gayakwad

Nov 11, 2018

great course

By Usama ejaz

Nov 10, 2018

Great course

By Ben Mays

Oct 13, 2018

This course does very little to provide resources for different styles of learners. The information is only presented in video format. There are no pdfs to accompany the videos. There are links to to additional resources in the videos, but there isn't a link page to make visiting these sites easier. The worst part is there is no programming required for this course. Each week is just a string of videos followed by a quiz, and then an optional project. I don't see the value in paying for this course over following a youtube channel, so I won't be continuing with this specialization.

By Armin Tirić

Oct 08, 2018

Very good examples, I recomend taking the optional homework if you can. I couldn't take every but you can learn a lot from this course.

By Gabriel Peixoto de Carvalho

Sep 28, 2018

The content seem rushed sometimes, but if you take time to work on the optional programming assignment you will understand completely the concepts presented in every week.

By Josh Le

Sep 19, 2018

I'm disappointed with this MOOC because it's very confusing. The teacher talk so fast and explain things in the way that students all know about Android. Hope that they can improve the quality of this MOOC!

By David Hernandez Carmona

Jul 06, 2018

very well explained and organized