Chevron Left
Back to Animal Behaviour and Welfare

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Animal Behaviour and Welfare by The University of Edinburgh

4.8
1,400 ratings
322 reviews

About the Course

Animal welfare has been described as a complex, multi-faceted public policy issue which includes important scientific, ethical, and other dimensions. Improving our understanding of animal welfare, involves the fascinating study of animal behavior as well as the challenge of accessing the emotions of animals. This is the On-Demand version of this course, which means you can start the course at any time and work through the course materials at your own pace. The materials and quizzes will always be available to you. You can come and talk about the course on Twitter using the hashtag #EdAniWelf...

Top reviews

LA

Nov 27, 2015

Fantastic course, well presented. Easy to take at your own pace, videos allow you to pause and rewind learning at any point.\n\nExcellent content, with knowledgeable presenters. Highly recommend

AB

Apr 28, 2017

Definitely a great course to take. As a Animal manager, I see many things I have learned during my own study. And it is interesting, not to say great, to see people whose ideas match mine.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 310 Reviews for Animal Behaviour and Welfare

By shirel

Dec 27, 2018

Extremely beneficial to anybody who wants to have their questions about animal welfare answered! I have learned so much and wish to use this knowledge to improve the welfare of animals.

By DakotaLynn B

Jan 15, 2018

The material was not as engaging as I would have liked. It would have been better if there were graphs in slide form that I could easily drag and drop to save alongside my notes in Word. The quizzes didn't always tell you why your answer was wrong/which answer was correct. There was one speaker, who thankfully only appeared in one video with a heavy Scottish (I believe) accent that I was completely unable to understand. I did learn a few things about how animals are housed and treated in the farming industry, something which I'm fairly knowledgeable about already, such as the exact measurements of the confines across the globe and which countries produce the most product, but I otherwise already knew all of the information. Some videos, especially at the beginning of the course were extremely repetitive, and therefore I lost interest and became frustrated very early on with this course, which has impacted my overall rating and view of the course. If I had felt engaged during these videos, it wouldn't have mattered that I didn't learn a lot of new information, because it still would have held my interest. I'm glad I stuck with it and finished the course.

By Laura R

Dec 05, 2018

Fantastic course

By José A D d S

Nov 21, 2018

Excelente.

Grande oportunidade de crescimento pessoal ao entender as questões sobre o comportamento animal e bem estar.

By Aida N

Dec 12, 2018

it was incredibly easy and fun

By Laura-Jane S

Jan 03, 2019

Really enjoyed the course, very thought provoking and loved the different types of materials available. The ability to save notes as you go through was really helpful too.

By erika l

Jan 29, 2019

Desde el punto de vista de lo que el animal requiere!!!...

By Daniel S T R

Jan 06, 2019

Great Course, I enjoy it.

By Scott B C

Jan 18, 2019

p

By Boer X

Jan 18, 2019

Really helped a lot to expand my knowledge and I can fix some of the mistakes I made to be a better pet owner

By Usha V G B

Feb 12, 2019

I learned a lot of great information. Well done to my teachers, and thankyou!!!! Usha Valerie Grace Bailey

By Daniel S

Feb 15, 2019

ez pz

By Bal K P

Feb 07, 2019

I learned a lot about animal behaviour and welfare. I am sure it will be a great part in my veterinary career

By Belkheir S

Feb 23, 2019

great course thanks

By Katia A

Feb 21, 2019

Excellent course!

By Kaylee E P

Mar 02, 2019

I've learned a lot from this course. I strongly recommend anyone interested in animal welfare and behaviour spend some time taking this course!

By AHMED S A S

Mar 04, 2019

I didn't receive the certificate after finishing the coarse although

By Kimberley G

Mar 12, 2019

Well designed, insightful, comprehensive. A great introduction into animal behaviour!

By clare c

Mar 14, 2019

Very informative and well written course that is engaging and straightforward to follow. Can highly recommend to anyone with an inter

By Kelly M

Aug 01, 2018

This course was very educational, and I enjoyed every minute of it. I am currently making a career change towards my passion with animals, so this was a great start! I look forward to taking more courses on here, and begin the next chapter in my life.

By Roswita F

Aug 07, 2018

I was a good start to undestand the animal welfare. Thanks!!!

By Alejandro C A

Jul 19, 2018

Increíble! Los materiales que brindan( videos, lecturas, ejemplos) son sumamente completos!

By Mark K

Sep 01, 2018

extremely informative and helpful, very straightforward to understand

By Robyn F J

Aug 22, 2018

Exceptional- I am even applying to do the masters offered at the university.

By Brittany R

Oct 14, 2018

Very informative, and it helped me see aspects of everyday life that were definitely "out of sight, out of mind" as it often is with lifestock (for those not in farming or thinking about what they eat/where it comes from), wild animals in zoos and conservation sites, as well as animals used in lab testing which I had always been curious about since I work at a cancer research journal. I'm interested in learning more and advocating for animals in any way I can while still trying not to anthropomorphize them so much (as humans are wont to do).