Chevron Left
Back to Leading Positive Change through Appreciative Inquiry

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Leading Positive Change through Appreciative Inquiry by Case Western Reserve University

4.7
120 ratings
50 reviews

About the Course

Appreciative Inquiry is a collaborative and constructive inquiry process that searches for everything that gives life to organizations, communities, and larger human systems when they are most alive, effective, creative and healthy in their interconnected ecology of relationships. To appreciate, quite simply, means to value and to recognize that which has value—it is a way of knowing and valuing the best in life. In the language of Positive Organizational Scholarship it means a research focus—a positive bias—seeking fresh understanding of dynamics described by words like excellence, thriving, abundance, resilience, or exceptional and life-giving. In this context the word appreciate means to value those things of value—it is a mode of knowing often connected to the idea of esthetic appreciation in the arts. To appreciate also means to be grateful or thankful for—it is a way of being and maintaining a positive stance along the path of life's journey. And not incidentally, to appreciate is to increase in value too. Combining the three—appreciation as a way of knowing, as a way of being and as an increase in value– suggests that Appreciative Inquiry is simultaneously a life-centric form of study and a constructive mode of practice. As a form of study, Appreciative Inquiry focuses on searching systematically for those capacities and processes that give life and strength and possibility to a living system; and as a constructive mode of practice, it aims at designing and crafting human organizations through a process in which valuing and creating are viewed as one, and where inquiry and change are powerfully related and understood as a seamless and integral whole Leading Positive Change through Appreciative Inquiry is a course dedicated to advancing our understanding and skill in leading strength-based change and on how to create, foster and manage organizations in which people thrive and perform at their best....

Top reviews

SD

Nov 07, 2018

Really enjoyed this course, it was a great learning opportunity and I look forward to continuing to put the things I learned into real world practice. The concepts taught have real po

RE

Jul 22, 2019

Thank you for this excellent course. It was rigorous, robust, and very meaningful.\n\nI plan to do more work in the are of Leading Positive Change.\n\nAll the best,\n\nRob

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 49 Reviews for Leading Positive Change through Appreciative Inquiry

By Sofia R

Dec 13, 2018

It would be great to have the Professor's feedback on our assignments at least at the end of the course.

By Nidhi S

Feb 22, 2019

This is an amazing course which impacts the learner positively and makes him able to be a leader who can bring change and drive any change in his team and ecosystem in a very positive way.

It was an enriching experience to learn fine techniques of appreciative inquiry in this course.

Thanks Coursera and most importantly thanks to Professor Ronald Fry for being an amazing teacher of this amazing course. The shine and positivity on his face in those videos was definitely a booster.

Love

By Vipul U

Mar 28, 2019

Very easy to understand,practical examples ,assignments make it like on campus Instructor led program,felt like being on the campus of university.

100% I will be able to apply in my work & personal life.My colleagues & family members will also benefit from this course.Would strongly recommend to people who are aspiring to make impact & grow.

Prof Ronald Fry made it so easy to understand & follow difficult concepts.Real case studies were very informative.

By marta b a

Feb 10, 2019

I can refer a lot of concept discussed in this course to my daily work and got a lot of inspiration and ideas of how to implement AI into my team and department operations. This course opened my eyes to the power of positive emotions and strengths - based change process definition. I truly believe this is the right way to approach change and transformation and assures sustainability and well-being.

By Zita M

Sep 05, 2018

Very useful, practical, thank you for the possibility to learn about AI!

By Fabio S

Oct 17, 2018

Great Framework to learn!

By Susan D

Nov 07, 2018

Really enjoyed this course, it was a great learning opportunity and I look forward to continuing to put the things I learned into real world practice. The concepts taught have real po

By law k c

Feb 03, 2017

This course provides a road map that creates new possibilities that is relevant on the individual level and on the organization level. This road map guides the discovery of our dreams, hopes and strengths. It guides us towards creating a shared purpose and vision. It guides us towards creating an aspiration statement and take action to fulfill the statement.

By Maria V C V

Sep 20, 2016

The professor is outstanding and the subject really interesting

All the chapters were veruy well explanied

By Joel G

Jun 04, 2016

Great material. The inclusion of case studies definitely helps.

By Valentijn d L

Jun 27, 2016

This course is straightforward, and at the same time deep going. the reading and available books on the topic, enable considerable in depth study. I find the work load very reasonable, still I have the impression I have learnt a lot.

By Geethalakshmi P

May 06, 2018

Nice

By Nooruddin B M

Dec 25, 2017

I got to know a little about Appreciative Inquiry two years ago. I was looking for a course which could help me expand my knowledge and understanding. This course was very helpful in broadening my understanding about AI and how to use it from personal and organizational development perspective. It helped me expand my understanding about leading for change using AI as a tool. A highly recommended course for managers.

By André B

May 03, 2018

This course really helped deepen my understanding of Appreciative Inquiry. I'm seeing opportunities to use it everywhere in my work.

By Kelli S

Apr 25, 2018

I learned so much from this course. The skills and strategies are applicable to a number of situations in education and I can't wait to use appreciative inquiry strategies both with my classes and in meetings.

By Boris K

Nov 22, 2016

Wonderful practical course!

By lindsay l

Feb 09, 2017

Really superb! Great PLAs, fantastic stories, very tangible but also steeped in theory and research.

By Anna B

Jan 07, 2018

Great concepts and clear process, thank you very much! The course was very helpful

By Guillaume B

Dec 10, 2017

Ronald Fry does a great course on appreciative inquiry, the approach he and David Cooperrider developed since 1997.

By Amanda W C

Jan 10, 2017

Este curso é fantástico! Consegui perceber várias possibilidade de utilização da IA na minha atuação na área de desenvolvimento organizacional. O curso consegue ensinar a metodologia e também a mudança de modelo mental.

By Carmen O

Apr 30, 2018

Excelente curso, excelente material y tutores.

By Simona S

Nov 26, 2017

Very good course, I've learned a lot

By Marcella A C J

Oct 05, 2016

Amazing!

By Fabio M V

Aug 28, 2017

Great course!

By Bill M

Jul 18, 2017

This was an exceptional learning experience with techniques and tools that I found directly applicable to work situations. I found the instructors did a very effective job in breaking down and explaining the concepts. Highly recommend this course for anyone who is leading an organization, team or interested in doing any kind of transformational work.