Chevron Left
Back to The Art of Negotiation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Art of Negotiation by University of California, Irvine

4.3
1,058 ratings
171 reviews

About the Course

The art of negotiation comes into play daily in the life of employees at all levels and in every position. Participants explore how current approaches to negotiation strategy and tactics are used, what negotiation entails, types of negotiation relationships that exist from hard bargain to win-win, to fully partnered relationships and personal ones. The course explores the personal and behavioral characteristics of an effective negotiator. Participants discuss how empowerment, power, and authority affect the negotiation process and outcome. Topics include how important it is to plan and prepare for a negotiation session. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Learn about the nature of negotiation and how it differs from selling 2. Gain awareness of the basic doctrines of negotiation and barriers to effective negotiation 3. Explain the role of authority and how to address it in negotiations 4. Explain the role of power in negotiations and how to address power inequities 5. Explain the positive and negative influences of empowerment 6. Learn the different “stances” or negotiation styles negotiators might adopt 7. Demonstrate the factors that influence which negotiation style is implemented 8. Describe the personal and behavioral characteristics of an effective negotiator 9. Demonstrate your grasp of emotional intelligence and how it impacts the effectiveness of a negotiator 10. Assess your own values and personal style and how they affect the negotiation process 11. Learn about the critical importance of planning and preparation in the negotiation process...

Top reviews

EE

Nov 29, 2017

Considering and placing value on my counterpart's interest as a way to obtaining an overall positive outcome in negotiations made sense to me as a Christian. Applying this principle

VL

Dec 03, 2018

helpful and practical coverage of the principled negotiation method. Excellent base for newbies and refresher for old-timers. Never hurts to refresh the basics!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 169 Reviews for The Art of Negotiation

By Abdelmohimen H

Oct 27, 2018

amazing course for life and working

By DINAH N T

Oct 26, 2018

Great class and content. I can’t wait to apply in real life situations. Thank you.

By usama d

Oct 10, 2018

A lot of information regarding the negotiation. very good subject and informative.

By Givaldo A

Jan 02, 2019

excellent course that gave me a lot of knowledge that I will certainly use every day, thank you.

By Martin S

Jan 06, 2019

I enjoyed this course. I would like to recommend it. Regards

By Vanessa L

Dec 03, 2018

helpful and practical coverage of the principled negotiation method. Excellent base for newbies and refresher for old-timers. Never hurts to refresh the basics!

By Mayrine F

Nov 18, 2018

Excellent skill builder! Priceless in my profession!

By Tuan D N D

Dec 14, 2018

Simple, short but very informative course, hope that Instructors can add more practical scenarios to test what I've learned

By Carlos E V A

Dec 10, 2018

please add more courses with this instructor!!

By Syahril A G

Mar 28, 2019

This topic online course will be very beneficial for me in pursuing my career goals. Thank you coursera, the instructors and UCI Extension, Div. of Continuing Education.

By Ramesh B

May 16, 2018

Good to know the Negotiation

By Liliana B

Oct 13, 2015

I just love it!!!

By rathnadeep

Aug 30, 2015

Don't let your emotions into negotiation.

By SANJAY B F F

May 01, 2017

Pl send me the Certificate. Its overdue

Sanjay Banka

By dacorie s

Sep 15, 2015

awesome

By Mario J R M

Mar 31, 2017

The Art of Negotiation

Congratulations on the platform

Congratulations on the administrative order of the course

Congratulations on the Success of the Course

By Mickael D

Nov 08, 2015

I learned a lot of very good concepts in this well prepared lesson. Great teacher

By Miguel A G V

Oct 18, 2015

the course structure and content are very good and interesting!

By Karampatos G

Nov 21, 2017

Excellent course !!

By Cecilia G

Sep 26, 2015

Very Good,

By Antonio T

Feb 23, 2018

Course is well structured and topics clearly presented

By Rodrigo G S

Nov 29, 2015

Succinct and to the point;

Great content;

The professor is clear and confident.

By Gleny V P

Aug 11, 2015

Very interesting and easy to follow.

By Jonatan R

Feb 21, 2016

Awesome tools !

By JIAO T

Feb 26, 2016

Really helpful in work.