Chevron Left
Back to Arts and Heritage Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Arts and Heritage Management by Università Bocconi

4.8
367 ratings
91 reviews

About the Course

Today cultural institutions are facing important dilemmas in many aspects of their management. Over the past decades, a new figure has emerged that of the art manager. Imagine you went to work every day to connect artists with audiences, vision with reality, and money with a mission. That is what managers in the arts do, they play an essential role in transforming the minds, lives, and communities through creative expression. This course has been conceptualized to address the need of skills and techniques to help professionals and managers in running art and cultural institutions. Learning Objectives There are three objectives to this course. First, we will approach the biggest issue cultural institutions face, the coexistence of managers and curators and giving evidence as to when, how, and why they can get along. Second, we will focus on some contemporary facets on what is means to manage a cultural institution and what cultural managers should expect and be able to face. And lastly, we will provide models and tools to design and implement appropriate courses of action to satisfy customers (visitors and audiences) and build an advantage over the competition. Course Structure The course is divided into six sections. Five sections are dedicated to specific aspects and themes of managing cultural institutions, while the sixth section is dedicated to individual interviews of prominent cultural institution managers on specific topics. The involvement of professionals and managers gives an incredible value to the learning experience of this course. Each module is paired with a quiz and discussion forums to reflect on the variety of the heritage management, its complexity, and the power of the network that we will build together during the course. Successful completion of the quizzes is required for a course certificate as explained in the Grading Policy page. If you love art and want to make an impact in this unique and fantastic sector, this course will support you in understanding the peculiarities of this sector and how to leverage on its tools to make a bigger impact. Look forward to meeting you online! Acknowledgements: Vatican Museums: www.museivaticani.va Cenacolo Vinciano:  www.beniculturali.it/mibac/export/MiBAC/sito-MiBAC/Contenuti/MibacUnif/Eventi/visualizza_asset.html_1283837989.html (ITA) FAI (Fondo Ambiente Italiano): eng.fondoambiente.it MUVE (Fondazione Musei Civici Venezia): www.visitmuve.it The National Trust: www.nationaltrust.org.uk The Archeological Site of Paestum: www.museopaestum.beniculturali.it whc.unesco.org/en/list/842 Museo dell'Opera del Duomo (Florence): www.museumflorence.com Museo del Violino: www.museodelviolino.org _________________________________ Disclaimer - Since some of the videos are conducted with those whose native language is not English, we have decided to sometimes preserve their more emphatic speech to keep a tighter match between the audio and subtitles....

Top reviews

RN

Mar 31, 2018

I'm really into this amazing course. it provide me with a wide range of information. it helps me to understand the field of museums and heritage management . Thank you for this useful course.

HS

Sep 02, 2018

It was an incredibly interesting course that made me realize so many important facets of working in a cultural institution. The course content was very rich and the lecturer was brilliant.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 91 Reviews for Arts and Heritage Management

By Ciaran P

Sep 02, 2017

This was an excellent course which introduced me to the importance of properly managing art and heritage, in the same way as any other important resource should be managed. The individual lessons were beautiful, being set against the backdrop of some of the finest of Italy's cultural jewels.

By Marina G

Jun 09, 2018

It gives a wide view on the topics of management and marketing. Easy to follow for people without any Marketing or Economics background, and for the ones who do have it, the course offers a wide range of up-to-date bibliography and specific concepts on the Art Management. What I liked the most: the content itself, a lot of visual examples, very concise explanations, the feedback in the tests, the additional content, etc. One of the best courses I have ever made.

By Yulia A

Nov 19, 2018

A very good course, especially cool are discussions with the mentor!

By Stefanie v d B

Jan 31, 2019

Thank you so much for this great course . Iam a teacher of art with special interest in Heritage and art managment all over the world . My partners family lives in in Italy , Mantua so its special as a Dutch art lover how musea are organized and have great intensions for visitors to make visiting looking with their hearts . Loved the 6th chapter to see the people behind the consept but even more the interesting video lectures with sympatico Andrea Rurale .

By Vanessa L

Jan 16, 2019

Amazing course. Professor Andrea has been very generous in leaving so many slides of each course week and video interviews , what enrichs the learning process. I strongly recommend this course for people who love art, heritage and museums, as I do.

By Midori A

Jan 06, 2019

Very helpful and complete. Thank you!

By Mylene J

Mar 15, 2019

I really enjoyed this course and it has a good tempo. All valuable information!

By Bruno M

Mar 07, 2019

Excelente curso abordando um largo espectro de temáticas relacionadas com o tema, aplicado à realidade italiana.

By Ainara G F

Dec 29, 2018

It is incredible the quality of the information. It summarises everything with beautiful images and, on top of that, it also brings us to most of the best places in Italy when it comes to Heritage. I learnt a lot and I am very happy to have taken this course. Thank you to all the team and the people that created it.

By Omar M

Mar 21, 2019

This is my second course by Bocconi University. Great instructor and rich content which help me learning about a new field. Coursera made this learning experience incredibly amazing and interesting. I strongly recommend Bocconi courses and of course Coursera learning platform.

By Riley-Quinn R

Aug 01, 2018

I really enjoyed learning the ins and outs of management and what they focus on in their career, I was really interested!

By Alexis N W

Jul 19, 2018

Really enjoyed it and sparked my interest in a field I'd never thought about pursuing before.

By Haytham M M S

Sep 02, 2018

It was an incredibly interesting course that made me realize so many important facets of working in a cultural institution. The course content was very rich and the lecturer was brilliant.

By Vicky A

Sep 09, 2018

excellent ! thanks Andrea!

By Tatavarthi M

Sep 09, 2018

I think that the course was well thought out. However I thought it would be more helpful if we were given scenerio/ situation type of questions which we would have to deal with using our understanding of the course instead of quizzes based on definitions.

By Mariana P

Oct 05, 2018

It´s a very useful course to understand problem of management in a cultural institution. Thank you so much.

By Fatim B

Jul 25, 2018

Thank you for this excellent course !

By robin t

Dec 10, 2017

EXCELLENT COURSE! WHILE IT WAS SOMTIMES DIFFICULT TO UNDERSTAND THE INSTRUCTOR, I FOUND IT TO BE AN ADDED BENIFIT; FELT LIKE I WAS IN ITALY!

By Leila F

Oct 27, 2017

Very well structured. i would encourage others to take this enjoyable and useful course.

Art and Heritage is allover.

Thank you!

Leila

By Matthew R

Apr 13, 2018

found this an engaging and interesting course

By Layla T

Jul 09, 2017

Really motivated course, a great surprise, one of the first courses made in Coursera that I feel connected. Andrea Rurale has conducted the course both with professionalism and implication that made it really interesting. The use of real Italian cultural institutions and interviews with their directors made it more easy to understand all the management concepts.

My experience on museums was only internal as a conservator and this course helps me to understand the relationship of the museum with visitors and markets.

Thank you to all the team for this great work,

By Virginie F

Jun 13, 2017

Excellenand very well managed courses along the journey. A big thanks for all the knowledge provided along these past weeks. With best regards, Virginie Francois

By Maria V D S

Aug 10, 2017

An exquisite course with fantastic contents and features

By Larisa B

Jan 20, 2018

It was very interesting and informative. I really enjoyed it! Good luck to all participants!

By Artemis K

Oct 29, 2017

I would like to thank Mr.Rurale and the Universita Bocconi for this great course, which is very interesting and useful. I was also amazed by the museums and the archaeological sites, where some of the lectures and the interviews with the managers were filmed. Best regards, Artemis Kinia