Chevron Left
Back to Assessment in Higher Education: Professional Development for Teachers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Assessment in Higher Education: Professional Development for Teachers by Erasmus University Rotterdam

4.8
51 ratings
22 reviews

About the Course

Are you a teacher in higher education wanting to get the best out of your students and assessments? Then on behalf of Risbo, Erasmus University Rotterdam, we would like to welcome you to this MOOC on Assessment in Higher Education. In this MOOC we will guide you through the different phases of preparing, creating and evaluating the assessments in your course. After participating in this MOOC, you will be able to: 1. Design an assessment that is constructively aligned (content, level, methods) with the course objectives and activities 2. Apply the quality criteria with respect to validity, reliability and transparency for construction of assessments and assessment items 3. Analyze the assessment output and results, assess the quality of the assessment and make decisions about students’ grades accordingly 4. Formulate future improvements for an assessment For the assignments, you will be working with your own teaching materials. For example you will create your own assessment plan for your course. Next to that you will become part of a learning community with teachers from all over the world. We are offering you instructional videos, interviews, animations and checklists. In addition to these, there will be course activities, such as assessments, and discussion prompts. By participating in this MOOC, you will find answers to the following questions: • What is the role of assessment? • How can you select the right methods of assessment for your course? • What is constructive alignment? • How can an assessment plan and matrix help you in the construction of assessments? • Is it possible to make an absolute reliable and valid assessment? • How can the formulation of good assessment questions have an impact on that? • What is the role of feedback? • How can rubrics help with providing feedback? • What are the things to consider when performing an exam or item analysis? What aspects should you look out for? • How do you draw conclusions from an exam analysis and make plans for future improvements? • If good students fail on certain questions, what does this say about the question… or about your teaching? Are you ready for enhancing your teaching skills? Then take this journey with us....

Top reviews

RR

Jul 13, 2018

This course is exactly what i have been looking for.My Institution is now reviewing our Assessment Strategy because of my contribution.

AG

Oct 22, 2018

It is definitely a great course to acquire professional competence in assessment. Great content and reading references.

Filter by:

1 - 22 of 22 Reviews for Assessment in Higher Education: Professional Development for Teachers

By Pratibha S

May 13, 2018

It's a great course ,easy ,interesting , very informative and beneficial for teachers , a milestone in their profile.

By Hugo F V C

Sep 27, 2018

Very helpful

By Dorothy C M

Oct 05, 2018

Great course - I learned some valuable skills that I am already implementing in my workplace

By Amit G

Oct 22, 2018

It is definitely a great course to acquire professional competence in assessment. Great content and reading references.

By emmanuel b c v

Aug 15, 2018

Excellent! Very practical, I'm already using this knowledge, Thanks God and you for this.

By Raymond

Jul 13, 2018

This course is exactly what i have been looking for.My Institution is now reviewing our Assessment Strategy because of my contribution.

By Dr. S W S

May 06, 2018

I earned a certificate on ‘Assessment in Higher Education: Professional Development for Teachers from Erasmus University through Coursera. The course was very useful and challenging in that it provided me with required knowledge and skills to develop fair, reliable and valid assessments that benefit both my students and me. I suggest that each and every teacher should try to study a program such as this one as it covers all aspects necessary for developing reliable and valid assessments for their students.

By Blandina K

May 14, 2018

A very educative and informative course with full of insights and practical experience. It further forms a good forum for professional discussions and knowledge exchange with many gurus in Education Assessment. It was wealth the effort.

By Paritosh D

May 04, 2018

A course which perhaps all teachers in higher education should go through! some wonderful insights into designing MCQ & essay questions, analysing exam scores to understand what they mean - and how successful one was in achieving stated goals.

By Riccardo C

Apr 30, 2018

Very interesting and useful. I would suggest it to every instructor.

By Sanette B

May 03, 2019

Excellent examples and presenters

Variety of examples and engaging methods

Enjoyed the course!!

By Konstantina I

Jun 02, 2019

Really good course, well structured! Good information and materials provided! The only pitfall of the course is the peer-review that we have to search for people to evaluate us! I still highly appreciate the effort you put on developing such a nice course, I learned a lot, thank you!

By Prakasha

Jun 12, 2019

I was searching for authentic reading materials to teach these content and got them from this course. Thank you

By Francis C

Jun 21, 2019

The Course has been excellent as it was beyond my expectations. I have known a lot

By Dr.Sumita R K

Jun 24, 2019

Very useful course for teachers

By laila k k

Jul 07, 2019

I have learnt much in this course, concepts from professors and written material - all brilliant.. thank you!

By Vladimir

Jul 26, 2019

If you want to get to know more about assessment or to improve your assessment skills - this course is for you! One of the best courses I have ever had.

By Ann-May M

Jul 29, 2019

Excellent!

By Jacob F

Mar 04, 2019

A lot of this course was reviewing what I have already studied when I was in university. Since having been an educator for five years since having earned a Masters degree, and having worked with many talented people in the field, assessment makes a lot more sense. It seems like night and day, in terms of selecting the right answer, but there is so much more to it, especially with item analysis. I really enjoyed this course. I do wish there were more interaction with others also enrolled in the course.

By Kostas L

Jul 01, 2018

I would have liked more thorough examples on the analysis on the reliability of assessments

By Barbro W

Jul 02, 2018

I liked the course very much, but some of the course materials where difficult to follow. The first half, on the assessment plan and constructive alignment were great. More examples would help, especially where we are supposed to learn "judgment calls" - this is difficult without a larger peer group to discuss with. If you can take the course at the same time as one or more colleagues, that would help. There is also a lot of focus on multiple choice questions, which may or may not be relevant to you.

By Derek R

Apr 14, 2019

OK