Chevron Left
Back to Confronting The Big Questions: Highlights of Modern Astronomy

Confronting The Big Questions: Highlights of Modern Astronomy, University of Rochester

4.6
282 ratings
92 reviews

About this Course

An introduction to modern astronomy's most important questions. The four sections of the course are Planets and Life in The Universe; The Life of Stars; Galaxies and Their Environments; The History of The Universe....

Top reviews

By GB

Aug 01, 2017

Excellent course. Very clear lectures that cover a lot of ground in not a lot of time. Fantastic overview of most of what we know about astronomy and how we know it. Best class I've taken on Coursera.

By AM

Apr 12, 2018

The is the first time I have rated a course with 5 stars, but this one is worth it. I audited and did not take the exams, but I thoroughly enjoyed the lectures and I learned a lot.

Filter by:

90 Reviews

By Bill Thoet

Mar 31, 2019

Very good overview. I thought that some of the questions given were not covered in the lectures, e.g., that all valid combinations of color charge have to be colorless.

By Martin Nicholas Stigliano

Mar 28, 2019

A short but very illustrative course.

By Mark W Roberts

Mar 06, 2019

Really like the professor and the way he structured the class. Learned a lot!

By Dagim Getachew

Dec 13, 2018

so far liked it, nice content and covers lots of ideas

By Silvia Mazzei Bergerat

Nov 20, 2018

Excellent! This is the 2nd time I'm doing it.

By Eshita Sohani

Jul 09, 2018

such an amazing course by amazing professor. quiz was superb and you will be able to make use of virtual simulations. worth doing

By E. Robert Lord

Jun 24, 2018

Can't complete the first quiz because I can't download the simulators. - hence can't complete the course.

By Antonia Tejeda Barros

Jun 22, 2018

This course is fascinating. The teacher is great. But the Quizzes are IMPOSSIBLE to pass. They require a simulator that does not work and all the questions have multiple answers and are extremely difficult. Also, there are A LOT of questions in every Quiz: 25. I am extremely sad, but I think I'm going to have to drop this course. It's the first time that I will have to do something like this, but I cannot lose my time repeating for ever an extremely difficult and impossible quiz in a course that it's not intended for professional physicians. I have notified Coursera several times about the extreme difficulty of the Quiz but nobody did anything. If in the future this Quiz is updated and made for learners, then I will happily continue the course. I've read in the Forum that many learners have had the same problems, but nobody arranged the Quizzes. Such a pity. The teacher is great and the lectures are fascinating. But already the 1st Quiz is impossible to pass (even if you take thousands of notes, like I did).

By Yaron Klein

May 05, 2018

A well thought out overview of modern astronomy. Excellent handouts.

By Anne Mikulski

Apr 12, 2018

The is the first time I have rated a course with 5 stars, but this one is worth it. I audited and did not take the exams, but I thoroughly enjoyed the lectures and I learned a lot.