Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to battery-management systems

Introduction to battery-management systems, University of Colorado System

4.7
111 ratings
29 reviews

About this Course

This course will provide you with a firm foundation in lithium-ion cell terminology and function and in battery-management-system requirements as needed by the remainder of the specialization. After completing this course, you will be able to: - List the major functions provided by a battery-management system and state their purpose - Match battery terminology to a list of definitions - Identify the major components of a lithium-ion cell and their purpose - Understand how a battery-management system “measures” current, temperature, and isolation, and how it controls contactors - Identify electronic components that can provide protection and specify a minimum set of protections needed - Compute stored energy in a battery pack - List the manufacturing steps of different types of lithium-ion cells and possible failure modes...

Top reviews

By RS

Jan 24, 2019

Very good course for the beginners. Mr. Plett explains the concepts so clearly and his teaching style makes the subject more interesting. This course is very useful to those who are interested in BMS.

By SC

Apr 15, 2019

This course is really interesting .This includes the basic information of battery working which was very helpful for me as I am from Mechanical Engineering Background

Filter by:

29 Reviews

By shabaz

Apr 23, 2019

Nice course. Instructor is superb. Highly recommended.

By Akhil Gupta

Apr 18, 2019

nice course !!!

By Sandesh Chaskar

Apr 15, 2019

This course is really interesting .This includes the basic information of battery working which was very helpful for me as I am from Mechanical Engineering Background

By Uddhav Surve

Apr 11, 2019

Awesome

By Noyal Joseph Binu

Apr 06, 2019

The course feels boring throughout the .

By Albert Skegro

Apr 02, 2019

Introduction to battery-management systems is a fantastic course. It provides excellent introduction to the world of batteries, electric vehicle batteries and electric vehicles themselves. It emphasizes the importance of designing a good BMS. The lecturer is excellent and the lectures can be easily understood by both a layman and an engineer in the field. I would recommend it to anyone interested in electric vehicles.

By Max Cimenti

Apr 02, 2019

Highly recommended.

The material is very interesting. The presentation is super clear and logical.

Although I have experience in the field (of energy storage) I've learned a lot from Prof Plett lectures.

Thank you.

By Pranav Mathur

Mar 20, 2019

Professor clears all basic concepts of Li-ion batteries very well. It focuses on cell manufacturing, it's working and basic calculations of SOC, power and remaining energy.

It creates a good base for amateurs and even for those who have prior knowledge of Li-ion batteries.

By Sumukh Surya

Mar 07, 2019

Great course! It would be really great if you discuss few problems in the lectures

By Kellen Denny

Feb 27, 2019

I think that this course is an excellent introduction to battery basics and BMS fundamentals. Dr. Plett does a great job of covering the bases while making sure to not go too deep into the material where it would be better suited for another course. My only reason for giving 4 stars is that some of the quiz questions are worded a little confusingly or that the correct answer is not an option. However it does not take away from the learning that can take place with this course.