Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to battery-management systems

Introduction to battery-management systems, University of Colorado System

4.8
36 ratings
8 reviews

About this Course

This course will provide you with a firm foundation in lithium-ion cell terminology and function and in battery-management-system requirements as needed by the remainder of the specialization. After completing this course, you will be able to: - List the major functions provided by a battery-management system and state their purpose - Match battery terminology to a list of definitions - Identify the major components of a lithium-ion cell and their purpose - Understand how a battery-management system “measures” current, temperature, and isolation, and how it controls contactors - Identify electronic components that can provide protection and specify a minimum set of protections needed - Compute stored energy in a battery pack - List the manufacturing steps of different types of lithium-ion cells and possible failure modes...

Top reviews

By SK

Nov 12, 2018

I Got overview of BMS design and function related to Battery management system. waiting for next course to complete

By AS

Nov 11, 2018

Excellent course. Very in-depth and clearly presented by Professor Plett.

Filter by:

8 Reviews

By Asad Imran

Dec 08, 2018

It is just amazing.

By Mohamed Ebrahim Abdulaty

Nov 27, 2018

It's a good course with excellent illustration, it just needs more examples to add more valid ways of calculations. Even thou it was a very challenging course. I enjoyed!

By Wreeju Bhaumik

Nov 24, 2018

GOOD : The course material has been well thought out, is well organized and is quite comprehensive as far as an introduction to BMS goes.

BAD : There is no participation from the professor or his research assistants in the forum at all. Questions that are unanswered by other students just languish without response. The quizzes don't provide any solutions after submission for wrong answers leaving one to wonder what the correct answer is. I paid for this course but had zero forum support from the teaching staff versus other unpaid courses that I attended at Coursera which had far better support from professor and staff.

By Tejas

Nov 13, 2018

Excellent teaching and design of the course. Thank you very much.

By saurabh kumar

Nov 12, 2018

I Got overview of BMS design and function related to Battery management system. waiting for next course to complete

By Asitha Senanayake

Nov 11, 2018

Excellent course. Very in-depth and clearly presented by Professor Plett.

By Richard Vlas

Oct 23, 2018

Great lessons, great professor.

Thank you!

By PREYAS DARSHAN BHANDERI

Oct 07, 2018

Hi, this course is a novel of it's type and really a new paradigm to BMS. I am a proud member of this course and eager to meet professor and discuss it's more abstruse points in future. Thanks Coursera also to provide this unmatchable platform for vivid learners.