Chevron Left
Back to Big Data Analysis: Hive, Spark SQL, DataFrames and GraphFrames

Big Data Analysis: Hive, Spark SQL, DataFrames and GraphFrames, Yandex

3.9
70 ratings
14 reviews

About this Course

No doubt working with huge data volumes is hard, but to move a mountain, you have to deal with a lot of small stones. But why strain yourself? Using Mapreduce and Spark you tackle the issue partially, thus leaving some space for high-level tools. Stop struggling to make your big data workflow productive and efficient, make use of the tools we are offering you. This course will teach you how to: - Warehouse your data efficiently using Hive, Spark SQL and Spark DataFframes. - Work with large graphs, such as social graphs or networks. - Optimize your Spark applications for maximum performance. Precisely, you will master your knowledge in: - Writing and executing Hive & Spark SQL queries; - Reasoning how the queries are translated into actual execution primitives (be it MapReduce jobs or Spark transformations); - Organizing your data in Hive to optimize disk space usage and execution times; - Constructing Spark DataFrames and using them to write ad-hoc analytical jobs easily; - Processing large graphs with Spark GraphFrames; - Debugging, profiling and optimizing Spark application performance. Still in doubt? Check this out. Become a data ninja by taking this course! Special thanks to: - Prof. Mikhail Roytberg, APT dept., MIPT, who was the initial reviewer of the project, the supervisor and mentor of half of the BigData team. He was the one, who helped to get this show on the road. - Oleg Sukhoroslov (PhD, Senior Researcher at IITP RAS), who has been teaching MapReduce, Hadoop and friends since 2008. Now he is leading the infrastructure team. - Oleg Ivchenko (PhD student APT dept., MIPT), Pavel Akhtyamov (MSc. student at APT dept., MIPT) and Vladimir Kuznetsov (Assistant at P.G. Demidov Yaroslavl State University), superbrains who have developed and now maintain the infrastructure used for practical assignments in this course. - Asya Roitberg, Eugene Baulin, Marina Sudarikova. These people never sleep to babysit this course day and night, to make your learning experience productive, smooth and exciting....

Top reviews

By SM

Nov 13, 2018

content of the course is remarkable and the way they explained concepts is very lucid. I just want to give suggestions please give link to the data set they are using for illustrating the concepts.

By SS

Feb 03, 2018

I wish I could give more rating than 5 :). Excellent course. Thanks so much for such an excellent course. All the instructors are great.

Filter by:

14 Reviews

By Marco Gorelli

Dec 05, 2018

Unfortunately, I often spent more time trying to get my assignments to pass the automatic grader than on solving them. This made the course a bit frustrating at times.

By shatabdi mandal

Nov 13, 2018

content of the course is remarkable and the way they explained concepts is very lucid. I just want to give suggestions please give link to the data set they are using for illustrating the concepts.

By Shubhajit Saha

Sep 07, 2018

Only good content can not suffice for a good tutorial. I tried hard to pursue this course, but now giving up for the poor speakers, poor communication and lack of helpful visual aids.

Thank you.

By Jingting Lu

Sep 05, 2018

A decent course with lots of room for improvement to be great.

I absolutely loved the sections taught by the two Pavels. Their presentation is top notch in depth, structure and clarify.

I could not stand Natasha's lectures. Please read to the feedback on the forum and rework those weeks. It is a shame that there is such inconsistency of quality from week to week.

The issues with the grading machine are unacceptable. It gets tripped by simple, common variations in code. (Ie putting the name of the database in the from statement as opposed to using a standalone "use" statement in the hive assignment - executes perfectly in the sandbox). Would have been nice to call out explicitly or better yet, provide a template notebook with the line written. Hours wasted on such problems makes me hesitate to recommend this course to colleagues and friends despite that this is probably the best one on Coursera for now.

By amanpreet kaur

Aug 07, 2018

This course is so detailed and focused on the basics of the Hive and Spark SQL frameworks. Amazing professors.

By Максим Уваров

May 27, 2018

Grader is awful

By Evgenii Karimov

May 15, 2018

Grading system it terrible, it hadn't work for a week summary, no help from staff on Coursera forum, only Slack channel could help. Theoretical material is quite good.

By Luis Vazquez

May 13, 2018

The content of the courses and some of the weeks are very good, but other are terrible with many problems in the lessons and in the assignments. Some of the teachers seems to take very little care in the preparation of the lessons and the related material and this dramatically reduce the overall quality of the course. Could and must be improved.

By Scott Dean

Apr 25, 2018

Although I do believe that the teaching in this course was adequate, and I think the teachers involved were working their hardest to convey a complex topic, it was really hard for me to follow.

By Josefa Calero Serrano

Apr 06, 2018

Good content but the assignment grade system is frustrating. You spend so many hours trying to understand which are the errors or the way to execute the assignment. Tutors do not answer your questions . It's why I'm unenrolled from this course. I definitely do not recommend it.