Chevron Left
Back to Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data Modeling and Management Systems by University of California San Diego

4.3
2,094 ratings
340 reviews

About the Course

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

MP

Oct 17, 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG

Mar 28, 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 330 Reviews for Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

By Vítor L d S

Nov 19, 2018

Would have more extra papers/material to read. The hands-on would also bring some problems/challenges without resolution to let us try by ourself (with answers).

By Shuai M

Dec 23, 2018

good course to know different types of data models and some BDMS.

By Jimmy F

Dec 11, 2018

I wanted to see more big data issues in the final test.

By Apurva T

Feb 03, 2019

Course was very good, some concepts were a little tough to understand, like the graph network and other topics of first 3 weeks. But on the whole a very good course to understand basics of data modeling and management.

By Ilya P

Jan 24, 2019

Decent course, fair information. Although sometimes instructors seem to forget the audience they are talking to, so it is hard to power through some lectures.

By Andrea P

Jan 24, 2019

The final assignment is unclear in some passages, but it is a very good introduction to the modelling and management systems overall.

By Jorge d l C

Feb 11, 2019

Basic for database developers

By shreya k

Feb 15, 2019

Really nice course. Had a chance to rediscover my data modelling skills. Surely looking forward to more courses in this specialization.

By Parinya H

Feb 28, 2019

Good content and recommend for modeling Big Data.

By nchang

Mar 11, 2019

nice course ,assignments are well explained and are well organised

By Ruben

Oct 17, 2016

Interesting. Sometimes a little bit overwhelmed by a lot of information within a single video but it gives you an overview of what is big data modeling and management systems.

By Wentao Z

Aug 18, 2016

Not too much useful and practical knowledge. full of basic concepts

By leila M

Aug 27, 2016

it was nice but a bit complicated for beginner though i like it

By Mujtaba A

Dec 18, 2017

It was a good course for beginners of big data modeling. I benefited much from it from the theoretical perspectives.

By Spencer

Oct 16, 2017

The lectures and hands on material for this course deserve 5 stars. I did not like the peer review assignment as I thought it was unclear and that the review process is very inconsistent. That being said I have not liked peer review projects for any classes I have take on coursera so I would still recommend this class.

By Mehul P

Dec 31, 2017

Nice overview to get into it.

By Prospero-Martin R

Mar 24, 2018

I enjoyed the lectures and liked the topics. Although I would like little bit more hands-on quizes. The "Designing a Big Data Management System for an Online Game" questions where unclear, probably if we had had more hands-on exercises throughout we would not be as confused as gain confidence.

By Aleksandar R

Jul 02, 2017

Not as good as the first course in the big data specialization. The big data modeling part of the course was excellent in my opinion because it contained both theory and practice. However, the management systems were not covered adequately, with only one week in the course allocated to cover those topics. I remember how a few management systems are called and what they're good for, but I wouldn't feel confident to perform any practical tasks with big data management systems after finishing this course.

Still, I'd say it's worth taking the course if you want an overview of the most common big data models and management systems.

By Alireza A B

Aug 07, 2017

Lectures where good but some effort is needed to have more practical assignments

By Dennis N

May 19, 2017

I got excellent exposure to the various ways that big data is handled and structured and it was in detail as well. I highly recommend this course for anyone who is pursuing a career in being involved in the big data landscape.

By CHANDAN J

Feb 04, 2018

Great overview of a few databases and what they are good at. Would have liked actual hands-on like installing a database and demonstrating the key feature the database is good at.

By Remco W

Jul 30, 2017

Thx for this course. It helped me in preliminary understanding of the big data modelling world. Fascinating, and intriguing.

By Johannes V

Dec 10, 2017

All in all the course was very good as the first one. However it is not clear for me what I can do, if I feel myself unfairly graded by my peers at the Peer-Reviews. Furthermore it would be helpful, if the peers had to justify their grading by giving helpful comments to their grades. It is pretty discouraging doing the extra effort, when grading and receiving no constructive feedback at all. Therefore you should be able to challenge grading.

By Rita P

Aug 13, 2017

Informative course and video lectures, but final peer graded assignment was lacking clear instructions.

By Vinod S

Jan 19, 2018

Great course on concepts of Big data modelling.

Great opportunity to learn from 2 people who are actually working on Big data issues in the Live world.

The assignment in week 6 can be improved in terms of more objective questions and the spaces provided to write the answers.