Chevron Left
Back to Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data Modeling and Management Systems by University of California San Diego

4.3
2,095 ratings
340 reviews

About the Course

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Top reviews

MP

Oct 17, 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG

Mar 28, 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 332 Reviews for Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

By Amol G

Oct 09, 2017

Lot of new information, excellent delivery. Given 4 as I feel real-use case flavor is inadequate -exercises could be more intensive, real case studies can be added.

By Olga T

Jul 05, 2017

There is a lot of useful information in the course but not enough practice to understand it better. And final peer-g

By Lukáš B

Dec 01, 2017

Too much abstract topic to perceive all things.

By Siphephelo B G

Jul 08, 2018

I loved how it built on knowledge obtained from the previous course and even had a recap video as a reminder of what was covered then. My only real gripe is how the felt like a bit of a curved ball - it was tricky to understand what was required of us. Overall, the course content is solid and I would recommend it to anyone

By Nicolas I

Nov 17, 2016

Great course! Although I think it would be a good idea to have all the HANDS ON instructions downloadable as a PDF to keep in personal files.

By Yaniv G

Oct 31, 2016

Overall relevant and clear presentations. Course material quite general, but I guess this is expected from an introductory-level course.

Peer-reviewed assignment's instructions can be clearer.

By mike d

May 11, 2018

labs could be improved. not all the python features were easily installed, if at all. A few more labs would have been nice to reinforce the points.

By Vidal A C L

Sep 18, 2017

The course provided me a good understanding of the tools and insights on how data could be modeled and managed. I feel confident that I can use the knowledge at work.

By Amr A

May 10, 2017

My only comment is that sometimes I feel that the speaker is talking quickly and the information is not clear

By Federico A G C

Sep 25, 2016

Very good material and overview. However, still a little bit too basic. Fundamental management systems hands on should be much more intensive.

By Hua W

Jan 02, 2018

Great material in this course. But the peer review assignment is a little bit weird...

By David R D N

Nov 23, 2016

Pretty good overall, although some exercises are a bit difficult to understand from the descriptions and instructions given, some graphs and initial reference documentation for exercises might help

By Fernando A S G

Jun 14, 2017

A clear introduction to some Big Data topics. Easy activities.

By Keith B

Jul 05, 2017

Good module.

By ahmedossama.201461

Apr 23, 2017

Tool !

By Johannes V

Dec 10, 2017

All in all the course was very good as the first one. However it is not clear for me what I can do, if I feel myself unfairly graded by my peers at the Peer-Reviews. Furthermore it would be helpful, if the peers had to justify their grading by giving helpful comments to their grades. It is pretty discouraging doing the extra effort, when grading and receiving no constructive feedback at all. Therefore you should be able to challenge grading.

By Rita P

Aug 13, 2017

Informative course and video lectures, but final peer graded assignment was lacking clear instructions.

By Alireza A B

Aug 07, 2017

Lectures where good but some effort is needed to have more practical assignments

By Vladimir A

Feb 02, 2017

Course is very good, and highly recommended.

More practice on this course will be appreciated

By Irsan K

Jun 19, 2017

Great course where I was introduced to lots of new technologies, would like to apply them in practice. Would be nice if there were more hands-on exercises.

By Dennis N

May 19, 2017

I got excellent exposure to the various ways that big data is handled and structured and it was in detail as well. I highly recommend this course for anyone who is pursuing a career in being involved in the big data landscape.

By CHANDAN J

Feb 04, 2018

Great overview of a few databases and what they are good at. Would have liked actual hands-on like installing a database and demonstrating the key feature the database is good at.

By Remco W

Jul 30, 2017

Thx for this course. It helped me in preliminary understanding of the big data modelling world. Fascinating, and intriguing.

By Mehul P

Dec 31, 2017

Nice overview to get into it.

By Prospero-Martin R

Mar 24, 2018

I enjoyed the lectures and liked the topics. Although I would like little bit more hands-on quizes. The "Designing a Big Data Management System for an Online Game" questions where unclear, probably if we had had more hands-on exercises throughout we would not be as confused as gain confidence.