Chevron Left
Back to Exploring and Producing Data for Business Decision Making

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Exploring and Producing Data for Business Decision Making by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
361 ratings
72 reviews

About the Course

This course provides an analytical framework to help you evaluate key problems in a structured fashion and will equip you with tools to better manage the uncertainties that pervade and complicate business processes. Specifically, you will be introduced to statistics and how to summarize data and learn concepts of frequency, normal distribution, statistical studies, sampling, and confidence intervals. While you will be introduced to some of the science of what is being taught, the focus will be on applying the methodologies. This will be accomplished through the use of Excel and data sets from many different disciplines, allowing you to see the use of statistics in very diverse settings. The course will focus not only on explaining these concepts, but also understanding the meaning of the results obtained. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Summarize large data sets in graphical, tabular, and numerical forms. • Understand the significance of proper sampling and why you can rely on sample information. • Understand why normal distribution can be used in so many settings. • Use sample information to infer about the population with a certain level of confidence about the accuracy of the estimations. • Use Excel for statistical analysis. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

DA

May 15, 2018

The separation of the concepts and Excel skills made the lessons very easy to navigate. Although I knew the concepts from a previous statistics course, the Excel skills made everything feel like new!

RD

Jun 02, 2019

Very useful for beginners as well as anyone interested in learning some basics. Highly recommended for managers and people trying to figure out what insights can be obtained form data

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 71 Reviews for Exploring and Producing Data for Business Decision Making

By Jacques P P

Apr 08, 2019

Good intro to statistical foundations. Would be great if all questions that involve Excel were in one Excel file

By CONSTANTINO A C M

Jun 28, 2017

Good basic statistics course, knowledge can be easily applied right from the start

By Yu Y

Jul 01, 2019

A good intro course for beginner. For engineers who already took statistical course at school, this course is a little simple.

By Noah M

Jun 25, 2019

What can I say, this course is amazing! Ms. Fataneh you will be missed, I hope to find more courses you teach in the future!

By Priyansh P

Jun 14, 2019

Learnt a lot through this course

By Marian G M

Jun 11, 2019

exc

By Radivoj D

Jun 02, 2019

Very useful for beginners as well as anyone interested in learning some basics. Highly recommended for managers and people trying to figure out what insights can be obtained form data

By Suman D

May 18, 2019

grea

By Cary S

May 15, 2019

Great lectures and great examples and everything in this course worked correctly, unlike in other Coursera courses I have taken.

By Erica W

Apr 19, 2019

This professor does an exceptional job of breaking down complex concepts and calculations without diluting the material. The statistical examples are highly relevant and interesting.

By Kevin C

Apr 17, 2019

Too many quiz questions that often have to go back to review videos and answers aren't clear after watching. Have to open MULTIPLE EXCEL files. Just open one with multiple tabs

By Archana V

Apr 16, 2019

Excellent teacher!

By Rakesh D

Apr 12, 2019

Course is well organized to give a good overview of statistics.

By Li Y

Apr 10, 2019

This is a very informative course. Easy to follow and understand. Lots of real examples. Strong recommendation.

By Sivaswami J

Apr 09, 2019

good practical experience with Statistics. Thanks

By Veronica S

Apr 08, 2019

excellent!

By Andrew J

Apr 08, 2019

Great class!

By Briana T

Apr 06, 2019

Tough, but provides excellent examples along the way that are broken down to create understanding. Very informative course!

By Keith K D

Apr 04, 2019

Really learned a lot of new things, real world solutions.

By Joe F

Apr 04, 2019

I really enjoyed the course. The professor explained the topics very clearly and made a difficult topic very interesting and compelling.

By ROBERTA N

Feb 07, 2019

Great foundational learning on statistics and how to apply for real life data analysis. Especially with understanding how to use Excel to facilitate the formulas and graphical representations. Appreciate having a consumable set of coursework that helped me learn and achieve completion (this does a lot for your confidence level at my age :)) I plan to continue on my Data Analyst learning path and appreciate that this course gave me a good start.

By PRADEEP G

Dec 09, 2018

Great Course

By Siya L

Oct 23, 2018

Excellent, easy to understand and the skills are very practical!

By Jai P

Sep 28, 2018

Very well taught and explained. One of the best statistics courses I have taken. As a non math student I have tried many books to understand statistics, but they were all intimidating. This course and the follow-up course on Inferential was my Holy Grail to learning and understanding Statistics. Hats off to the Prof. FATANEH TAGHABONI-DUTTA for the wonderful course and the way she helped approached it.

By Lalit S

Jul 25, 2018

Practical Statistics that helps you get to the truth of numbers..