Chevron Left
Back to Camera Control

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Camera Control by Michigan State University

4.8
924 ratings
217 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Course Two of Photography Basics and Beyond: From Smartphone to DSLR! Now that you have a broad understanding of the various types of cameras, the importance of setting up Menus and Functions to gain control in your photography, and the difference between Auto and Program exposure modes, you are ready to move into even greater Camera Control! In these 4 Modules we will concentrate on gaining the knowledge necessary to make use of Exposure Modes, Light Metering, Effects of various ISO settings, Lens options, using Shutter Speeds to convey aspects of Time in both documentary and creative ways, and exploring the controlled focus effects that Depth of Field Principles make possible. You will also continue to make new photographs and, if you are a subscriber to the specialization, continue interacting with your fellow learners as you share photographs for Peer Review. You will also confirm your knowledge through completion of quizzes and written responses. Let's get started with Module One!...

Top reviews

CL

Feb 13, 2018

The instructors are incredibly knowledgeable. The projects are instructional and test you to learn, try, etc. It made me think of new ways to capture images and inspired me to photograph every day!

AT

Dec 02, 2017

Great course structure. Great Professors and Mentors. This course has really help me grow a lot as a photographer. I'm so thankful to Coursera & MSU for putting such a great course for learners.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 207 Reviews for Camera Control

By Karen W

Nov 19, 2018

Excellent topics presented in a compelling and thoughtful manner.

By Shamily K

Jan 27, 2019

I like to learn a lot from ur teaching

By Roberto B

Nov 22, 2018

Excelent

By Amy E

Jan 16, 2019

great course! I have had a long-term interest in photography but hadn't had the background basics that this course provides. Super-helpful.

By joy o

Feb 19, 2019

very informative and fun too

By Jean B

Feb 13, 2019

Great course. Starts to take you out of your comfort zone and start to really explore. I loved the action and stop action assignments.

By Maria E P

Feb 07, 2019

I loved it.

By Bhuvaneshwary M

Feb 28, 2019

Its really very helpful

By SURAJIT D

Feb 28, 2019

Excellent

By Michael R H

Mar 13, 2019

Most excellent course! I really enjoyed successfully learning various photographic techniques to successfully write with light and express content in the frame that I wish to create!!

By Liene D

Mar 13, 2019

Thank you!

By VERA M

Jul 29, 2018

I found this course very well presented and materials not pertinent and practical.Thank you. Vera Mulder

By Miguel C

Aug 21, 2018

I have learned a lot in this session!

By He C

Sep 04, 2018

Very useful lesson!

By ahmed m m m

Oct 10, 2018

I enjoyed yhis course alot as it showed me lots of technique i was always wonderig about.

Thanks peter and mark,i truely appreciate your help

By George B

Oct 22, 2018

Great building block.

By Carlos f

Oct 25, 2018

Really good course I thought an online course was pointless as I could just read up myself and I tried that. I have now done one section of the course and what I have learned in that short space of time is unreal also viewing other photographers work and getting feedback has given me confidence, inspiration and ideas. Now I have a much better understanding of the camera settings I have gone through pictures I had took before and wonder why I used those settings.

By Anlys M

Oct 29, 2018

Great course

By Andreas Z

Mar 07, 2018

Highly recommended!

By Серебряков

Oct 23, 2017

Thank you Coursera, my wise teachers and fellow students.

By Dawn Z

Jun 23, 2016

I learned so much in this course, I would recommend this and the previous courses being offered in the specialization Photography Basics and Beyond from Smartphone to DSLR.

By Joan Y

Apr 03, 2016

I think this course gives me the most fundamental knowledge of photography, which consists of many new words and ideas. Thanks to this series of courses, I began to work better on my photograph skills, and I found it really interesting and amazing. The only thing I'm not quite pleased with is the payment of the full course, without the upgrades, I just can't review others' works and that's disappointing. But anyway, I will continue this specialism and I hope it's the right choice.

By Eric H

Apr 17, 2016

Excellent! I take my camera with me wherever I go now, and I am starting to get an eye for a photo; that tutorial on framing was a big help.

These courses are very thorough, with lots of photos to view as examples.

I am really looking forward to the rest of the course.

By Adwitiya D

Dec 11, 2017

Indeed, I learned to control my camera. I really enjoyed the assignments. Thank you!

By mathithumilan

Aug 28, 2016

course worth doing.