Chevron Left
Back to Classical Sociological Theory

Classical Sociological Theory , University of Amsterdam

4.8
1,071 ratings
277 reviews

About this Course

This Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) will offer the participants an introduction into the most important classical sociological readings between the 18th and 20th century. Highly influential social science scholars, such as Karl Marx, Max Weber and Emile Durkheim, will be discussed during 8 sessions. Combined with small tests, based on the video’s and recommended readings, the participants will be encouraged to dive deeply into the complex texts and get familiar with classical sociological concepts that are still very relevant today....

Top reviews

By SS

Jan 07, 2019

Simple,neat and interesting way of explaining the content. Didn't get bored. Good refreshment if you already know the stuff and good introduction if you are new to sociology. Professor is really nice.

By HP

Oct 29, 2018

This is a course which helps you understand the origin of Sociology. The content of this course includes all the sociologists who played a great role, also the lectures are delivered in a superb way.

Filter by:

268 Reviews

By Alicia Muñoz Ray

Apr 17, 2019

An excellent professor and a very interesting course.

By jhoan jose aldana parra

Apr 13, 2019

lastima que tenga traducciones limitadas

By NEHA RIAZ KHAN

Apr 07, 2019

A

M

A

Z

I

N

G

C

O

U

R

S

E

By Xiaoyu Huang

Mar 30, 2019

This course is fantastic! The ideas of those great sociologists are intriging and the professor's expression is impressing. Thanks a lot!

By Nimra

Mar 28, 2019

The course "Classical Sociological Theory" was a very beneficial course for me. I learned a lot of new things. It was a comfortable and amazing journey. It was my first online course and it has added great experience in my intelligence.

By Aleksandra Pasimisina

Mar 26, 2019

The course is of a much of an interest, i enjoyed it a lot and the lecturer was great as well as the material, would learn more.

By Hussain Hayat

Mar 26, 2019

I am very glad to share my experience with fellows. This course have enabled me to understand the base of sociology what we called the roots of sociology. It is easy to read and write about theories but to understand its philosophical perspective is like a soul to the body of knowledge. Thankyou course era for enabling me to understand the depth of sociological theory.

By Alba Canales Ruiz

Mar 24, 2019

I loved it! I've studied some of the authors during University but I forgot a little bit about them. This course helped me refresh my memory and introduced me to the other authors.

But actually what I enjoyed the most was the Professor. He explains everything in a way everyone can understand and one can see the love and passion he feels for his career. He is such a good teacher. The way he explains sociology makes everyone want to keep learning about it! I would have loved to have him during my University degree.

Thank you so much, it's been a pleasure!

By Zanji Sichone

Mar 23, 2019

He really carries the lessons well...i never got bored

By Saqib Ali

Mar 15, 2019

The course is very informative and necessary to understand classical sociological theories. Being student of the sociology I learnt so many topics from this course. At last a billion thanks to course era. Wish of best luck