Chevron Left
Back to Cloud Computing Concepts: Part 2

Cloud Computing Concepts: Part 2, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.6
190 ratings
40 reviews

About this Course

Cloud computing systems today, whether open-source or used inside companies, are built using a common set of core techniques, algorithms, and design philosophies – all centered around distributed systems. Learn about such fundamental distributed computing "concepts" for cloud computing. Some of these concepts include: clouds, MapReduce, key-value/NoSQL stores, classical distributed algorithms, widely-used distributed algorithms, scalability, trending areas, and much, much more! Know how these systems work from the inside out. Get your hands dirty using these concepts with provided homework exercises. In the programming assignments, implement some of these concepts in template code (programs) provided in the C++ programming language. Prior experience with C++ is required. The course also features interviews with leading researchers and managers, from both industry and academia. This course builds on the material covered in the Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1 course....

Top reviews

By MR

Jul 16, 2017

Great course, I would recommend to everyone who wants to understand the basics of cloud computing. The course material is excellent, the instructor Indy is phenomenal and the exams are marvelous.

By AH

Jan 01, 2018

Very nice and informative course, and the programming assignment in the end of the course is so helpful to understand and apply the theoretical concepts that was introduced during the course

Filter by:

39 Reviews

By Igor Kraskevich

Sep 30, 2018

The content of this course is good. Some of the quizzes are little bit too tedious.

By Vladimir Froimchuk

Aug 26, 2018

Quality material and presentation.

Two problems with the course:

1) There is incredible amount of material covered every week, which is great, on the one hand. On the other hand, it's very hard sometimes to see the forest for the trees. It obviously also limits the depth of the material covered and the understanding thereof.

2) The final programming exercise is lacking in quality - probably the weakest part of this course. There has been obviously a great effort made to prepare this exercise, but the code quality is very poor, not to mention sparse and poor code documentation. The exercise specs are not specific and detailed enough - it took some time guessing about what is actual algorithm is required to implement. I've spent much more time trying to understand the code and the exercise requirements than actual on actual programming. I can imagine how frustrating this experience must be for a novice/unexperienced programmer.

This review is relevant for both parts of C3.

By Luis Ramos

Aug 14, 2018

Great course. Looking forward to completing the whole specialization!

By Edwin Buck

Aug 11, 2018

I have really grown to like Indy's presentation style. He manages to give high quality lecture after lecture, with very few exceptions. In this entire class, only a few minutes of AFS presentation seemed like it could be improved.

The programming assignment took a bit more work for me this class, even though it was actually easier. I wished that the differentiation between the MP1 and MP2 styles of calling the EmulNet network was spelled out in the instructions. Lack of an example of how to use the MP2 entrypoints into the API had me trying to implement an entry point (which would require more work than was likely expected).

By Styliani Pantela

Jul 29, 2018

This course was excellent. As a distributed systems engineer I found it very educational and well designed. I was able to refresh some of the concepts and put my knowledge into a better context. Big thank you to the instructor for creating this wonderful learning material.

By Aditya Kulkarni

Jul 13, 2018

I couldn't quite appreciate the utility of topics like sensor networks or structure of networks. Other than that, the course was fine and the programming assignment was interesting.

By Abdul Qadeer

Jul 01, 2018

It was an awesome experience to learn and explore key areas of distributed systems in clud computing concepts

By SUBHASHIS CHAND

May 16, 2018

Good course. Gives you a good overview of cloud computing paradigms. Cloud Computing I and II both are quite informative courses.

By Wojciech Kozlowski

Apr 01, 2018

This was a great and interesting course just like the first part. However, I only gave 4 out of 5 as it the matrial was getting less and less specific to cloud computing towards the end. It covered topics that would still be important in cloud computing, but weren't cloud computing per-se. I knew most of that already from elsewhere and that's what the expectation should be on the learners. Otherwise, it feels like a waste of time for people who already know it.

By Michael Mienko

Apr 01, 2018

Awesome class for software engineers. If you haven't take it in college, or need a refresher, this is a great way to do so.