Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Key Constitutional Concepts and Supreme Court Cases

Introduction to Key Constitutional Concepts and Supreme Court Cases, University of Pennsylvania

4.9
416 ratings
105 reviews

About this Course

This course offers an introduction to the U.S. Constitution and landmark Supreme Court cases interpreting it. It explores the Constitution’s origins, its amendment over the years, and methods of constitutional interpretation. Topics include the nature and structure of the federal government, the powers of the federal government, and individual rights....

Top reviews

By SJ

Jul 22, 2017

Professor does a great job and in explaining the complexities. He does not take any partisan stand and does a great job and giving prominence to all sides of the argument. Enjoyed the course throughly

By RS

Sep 25, 2018

Prof. Roosevelt is amazing. I wish there were 4-5 more of these courses on Constitutional law, each with a different emphasis. I feel like I learned a lot about my country by taking this course.

Filter by:

100 Reviews

By Sonya Renae Hodges Grantham

Apr 25, 2019

I enjoyed this course. The course described and gave details about our Constitution and its contributions to Equal Protection and Human Rights.

By samantha mccormick

Apr 18, 2019

lots of information and easy to comprehend!

By JOSÉ LUIS RODRÍGUEZ CASTILLO

Mar 31, 2019

This course helped me to understand the evolution of the constitutional law of the United States of America, where the historical moment set the tone for the decisions taken. While it is true, many obey political interests and for supposed political moments, as in the case of World War II, it is no less true that the same system has sought to re-establish the rights of those people who might have been injured those rights. I consider it very important that many people at the international level (I am from Venezuela) approach this course, study it and of course internalize this process of the laws and their amendments because simply, the State has the faculty to self-regulate, legally speaking and of course, always respecting the will of the people. I congratulate all the people who contributed to the design of this course, it is quite complete and of simple understanding. Thank you very much.

Sincerely

Lawyer specialized in Labor Procedural Law

José Luis Rodríguez Castillo

Caracas, March 31, 2019

Venezuela

Twitter: @joseluisroca72

Linkedin: jlrc.win@gmail.com

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

By SHARMILA H S

Mar 09, 2019

Very informative, and useful

By Jonathan Pasierb

Mar 05, 2019

Very good intro/overview course. The supplementary materials and resources supplied via the course are a good jumping off point for further study.

By Adi Asenaca Manarusa Tuikilakila Turagacati

Feb 17, 2019

Thank you very much for this course. I really love it.

By Sarah Rice

Jan 29, 2019

I loved this class! It was super interesting and the professor was really enthusiastic about the content.

By Monal R Mehta

Dec 22, 2018

Great course. Fascinating topic!

By Chie Yamada

Dec 10, 2018

How can we evaluate our law? This lecture showed us the crucial criteria and manners, even if we are not US citizen. I deeply thank Professor Kermit Roosevelt.

By Chenier Gimerson Rossi

Dec 09, 2018

Excellent course. I am very happy with this opportunity. The classes were clear and easy to understand. Congratulations to Cousera for this incredible partnership with the University of Pennsylvania for the promotion of Constitutional Law.