Chevron Left
Back to Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines by Princeton University

4.8
109 ratings
19 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the broader discipline of computer science to people having basic familiarity with Java programming. It covers the second half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the first half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose, to be released in the fall of 2018). Our intent is to demystify computation and to build awareness about the substantial intellectual underpinnings and rich history of the field of computer science. First, we introduce classic algorithms along with scientific techniques for evaluating performance, in the context of modern applications. Next, we introduce classic theoretical models that allow us to address fundamental questions about computation, such as computability, universality, and intractability. We conclude with machine architecture (including machine-language programming and its relationship to coding in Java) and logic design (including a full CPU design built from the ground up). The course emphasizes the relationships between applications programming, the theory of computation, real computers, and the field's history and evolution, including the nature of the contributions of Boole, Shannon, Turing, von Neumann, and others. All the features of this course are available for free. No certificate will be offered upon completion....

Top reviews

DL

Dec 24, 2018

Loved this course! Such a great introduction to Computer Science. The course is really well broken down and the videos are very well done!

AN

Dec 05, 2018

Excellent clarity and pace with real-life problems and challenges to really understand the concepts and their motivation.

Filter by:

1 - 18 of 18 Reviews for Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines

By DENIS K

Oct 28, 2018

I've taken this course as one of few useful classes available on Coursera via AT&T continued education program. This course certainly allowed me to refresh memory on many philosophical CS topics and even learn something new.

The idea of teaching programming from the lowest-level possible and the introduction of TOY-8 assembly with !!!cpu schematics!!! is a very good idea. Gradual transition from mathematical concepts to physical hardware is what makes this course unique.

This class is not about programming. This class is not about algorithms. It it a good CS 101 introductory course. It is for somebody who already knows math, logic, basic electronics and basic programming to give a taste on what CS is about. Or for somebody like me to refresh memory on rarely used topics.

For introductory course it is too heavy-weight in my opinion. The goal of covering everything from Turing Machine to actual hardware is too ambitious and requires much more than 10 weeks to cover.

By Muhammad T

Oct 15, 2018

thats graet acchivement for me

By Zephyr L

Mar 23, 2019

The course material is great! On computing theory, it gives a comprehensive list of famous problems.On circuit design, the TOY-8 computer is so elegant that i can print the design out on a page of paper!

By @SiccoOtten

Mar 21, 2019

Great content, well structured, well presented! Kudo's to Mr. Sedgewick and Mr. Wayne.

By Andrey V

Mar 01, 2019

Great Course!

By Diego L

Dec 24, 2018

Loved this course! Such a great introduction to Computer Science. The course is really well broken down and the videos are very well done!

By Heather L

Dec 24, 2018

Great beginners course on algorithms, theory and the inner workings of your computer!

By hi

Dec 23, 2018

i think the toy is a litter complex, algorithm is much more fun.

By Jerrold

Dec 15, 2018

Good overview of algorithms and data structures. However they use an inhouse API in the provided java code with some unknown methods and the code they provide sometimes doesn't compile.

By Ahmed N

Dec 05, 2018

Excellent clarity and pace with real-life problems and challenges to really understand the concepts and their motivation.

By zhangdi

Sep 16, 2018

算法0

By Paolo S

Jun 19, 2018

Professors Sedgewick and Wayne succeed in explaining a lot of useful concepts in a very limited amount of time. The course requires you to dig deeper in the subject but it lays a very solid base for further knowledge development.

By Mithilesh V

May 25, 2018

This course is the perfect introduction to anybody who is interested in learning how a computer works from scratch. The first few weeks cover some important algorithms and data structures which are at the heart of our computational infrastructure. The latter half covers theoretical concepts like the Turing Machine, Intractability and the design of the CPU. Programming assignments would have made the course more challenging and fun. But in a nutshell, I highly recommend this course to any person looking for an introductory computer science course which covers some important topics in the vast domain of computer science

By Ernesto G

May 12, 2018

Very pedagogical and enjoyable introduction to CS. Another great Princeton University Coursera course.

By Daniel C

May 07, 2018

This course is a brilliant introduction to the most important Computer Science topics.

By Oscar J M Z

May 04, 2018

Great course about the foundations of computing

By Clyde R

Apr 26, 2018

I've enjoyed the Sedgewick/Wayne books and courses for years. I am enjoying the fresh presentation and the modifications done in this course. Other than the Obama clip. We could have done without that.

By Amit K G

Apr 15, 2018

Best Teaching style.