Chevron Left
Back to Cybersecurity and Its Ten Domains

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cybersecurity and Its Ten Domains by University System of Georgia

4.2
1,221 ratings
374 reviews

About the Course

This course is designed to introduce students, working professionals and the community to the exciting field of cybersecurity. Throughout the MOOC, participants will engage in community discourse and online interaction. Participants will gain knowledge and understanding of cybersecurity and its domains. They will engage with expertly produced videos, gain insight from industry experts, participate in knowledge assessments, practice assessing their environmental awareness, and gain access to materials that address governance and risk management, compliance, business continuity and disaster recovery, cryptography, software development security, access control, network security, security architecture, security operations, and physical and environmental security. Learning will be assessed using strategies aligned to knowledge and understanding. You do not need prior experience in IT security to do well in this course. All you need is a willingness to learn. We will point you to relevant open and free resources to assist you. At the end of this course, you will have the option of applying for undergraduate level course credit at Kennesaw State University (dependent on admission to Kennesaw State University as a degree seeking or a non-degree seeking student). More information is available in final module "Receive Course (undergraduate) Credit at Kennesaw State University"....

Top reviews

CB

May 04, 2018

The Cybersecurity course was very complete and interesting. I enjoyed forums and videos.\n\nThis course has motivated me to learn more about Information Security.\n\nExcellent content !\n\nRegards

PP

Feb 08, 2016

Superb course with lot of resources to learn concepts. websites really helpful to update knowledge. Simple rules will avoid hefty fines by govt and safeguard brand reputations

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 367 Reviews for Cybersecurity and Its Ten Domains

By Horst W

Feb 12, 2017

Most of the effort in the creation of this course seems to have gone into the visual and acoustic effects of the slides. The first week's material has no substance whatsoever (literally!). The second week' s presentations are just listings of lengthy definitions and "Best practices" which in fact are mostly goals, not practices.

With the poor quality of the provided videos, my hope was that the reading would be better. But the second week's reading are uncommented links to a 270 page NIST document, an Open Online Course(!!!) and OWASP material.

At this point it is clear that continuing the course is not going to help me in the way I would expect it from a course. When I compare this to the excellent Software Security course of Michael Hicks (University of Maryland) , which I also attend on Coursera, there are worlds between both.

I understand that "Cybersecurity and its Ten Domains" addresses students with less prior knowledge, but especially for such students I would expect a much better didactic approach.

One star seems harsh, but after the first two weeks, the only words I find for this are: "seriously?"

By Archit V

Feb 20, 2019

I loved the course based on the various things that I learned in it but I feel that this course lacked in practical examples or explanations of the course content. Also the course content was handed to me and I was supposed to read, learn and understand it all on my own. If this is what was supposed to happen then I could have googled all the stuff and read it myself. The need for a course for this stands cancelled on the way the things were taught to me. This journey started very well but it took a bad turn where I lost all hope in it. I'm sorry to say this but this is the worst course that I have ever done on CyberSecurity

By Arpit R

Apr 22, 2019

I had lots of expectation while enrolling myself for this course. But hardly anything got fulfilled.

The course instructor Dr. Humayun Zafar was only there in the first 1-2 videos (featuring less than 3 minutes in total). The rest of them are 1-3 minute videos which gives fancy terms without much explanation. The quizzes are based on readings and only some of the content asked is covered in videos.

Most of them were reading materials which can be got online also.

In short not worth time and money in taking this course.

By Jose A

Jul 10, 2017

This is probably the coursera course where I feel less effort has been put in place by the instructors.

The material consist on about 5 minutes of video per week, and links to external sites. This links may even be broken, or be to full books, without a good explanation on what to read there.

Besides, unless you have no previous knowledge of the subject, this is not for you. Very simple course. I've been able to pass 5 weeks quizzes before going through the material.

By sardor k

May 01, 2016

the only reason to take this course is because the certification will look good on your resume. don't expect to learn anything new if you are already in IT or related field. i passed the tests without going over the material. there is a shortage of original content, although their graphics and effects department did a good job, and mostly they expect you to read outside resources.

audit the course for free to get familiar with the content but only pay if you need the certification for professional reasons.

By Tianchi L

Jun 20, 2016

基本没讲什么,一直提示收费,QUIZ不能免费做。

By Peter S

Jul 28, 2016

This Course is a total scam. In doubt? Sign up for the free version and go watch the videos. Each video is only 1-2 minutes long, so you can watch all 7 weeks in half an hour ( speed 1.5). O, I forgot they also include a link to a 4 years old TED talk, FUn but not really relevant.

This course is a disgrace to Coursera. It ought to be removed.

By Erik B

Feb 17, 2017

Only fit for absolute morons and perfect ignorants. No content value whatsoever. I don't understand why Coursera allowed this one to happen to be on the Coursera website.

By yahya t

Feb 02, 2017

Content is very weak, sounds that are used very annoying...

By Pietro B

Jun 28, 2019

From all the courses I've taken on Coursera this is by far the less professional and less complete one.

One of the sign of the lack of effort by the instructor is the presence of old (2015) videos and many materials from the resource session are links to webpages and PDF that have been moved or removed.

By OYEDOTUN O A

Dec 23, 2018

Great intro

By BISHWAJIT P G

Jan 27, 2019

Fantastic course for those who is new to cyber security field.

By Hemal S

Jan 04, 2019

Great course to get initiated with CyberSecurity and its basic concepts

By Federico S

Jan 29, 2019

so good

By Ummer Y N

Jan 18, 2019

I love this course... The instructor has good knowledge... Also, his way of teaching and explaining is awesome...

By Sérgio G d O

Mar 05, 2019

Curso muito bom, com conteúdos atualizados e professores didáticos.

By vooka m

Mar 04, 2019

I am very happy with the course.

By Della S

Mar 10, 2019

Great Course

By Vinicius d S A

Nov 15, 2018

Excelente curso

By Luis A F C

Aug 01, 2018

Very good course that resume all the basic skills to improve security.

By Saakshi A

Aug 02, 2018

Informative and very simple to understand :)

By Mubarak A

Sep 14, 2018

I am grateful to God almighty for this opportunity. I'd also like to thank Coursera and Prof Zafar for this great experience. I really enjoyed the course.

By Umang Y

Sep 19, 2018

Exceptionally good !!

By Frank F E

Sep 25, 2018

Course outline very well structured. Deeper understanding into Cybersecurity.

By Herbert W T A

Jun 28, 2016

The course covers the essential areas in cybersecurity. The challenge for me was in the suggested readings, although long it is required reading!