Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

The Data Scientist’s Toolbox, Johns Hopkins University

4.5
18,669 ratings
3,769 reviews

About this Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)

Top reviews

By LR

Sep 08, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

By AM

Jul 22, 2017

Great Primer for what Data Science is about. It also provides the infrastructure of tools needed. This was what I was after, a way to provide other data scientist hardware and infrastructure support.

Filter by:

3,640 Reviews

By Abhay Parameswar

Apr 21, 2019

Very useful for beginners

By Jake Perfetto

Apr 20, 2019

The lectures are sometimes needlessly long with a lot of superfluous talking. The course would be better with more concrete examples and THE OUTPUT OF EACH INCLUDED. The course explains very simple queries and then asks you to do complex ones in the quizzes when the examples were poorly explained. Khan academy is a much superior course to this one, yet it does not offer a course certification. If this course actually wants to teach people efficiently it should emulate the real-time learning and coding in browser that Khan Academy has.

By Fengqi Xu

Apr 19, 2019

I learned git hub, which is really useful for me!

By Ornella Sathoud

Apr 19, 2019

The tutorial on github was not very clear to me, and the images used during the video and for the reading section were very blurry. Everything else was helpful

By Marc-Antoine Giguère

Apr 19, 2019

Pretty basic (from a software developer perspective) but can see the utility for newcomers to programming and informatics in general!

By yepin

Apr 18, 2019

Very impressive

By Nedino Lester D. Cayetano

Apr 18, 2019

I really like your approach on making people who are new in this field understand most of the basic concepts. I've been in software industry for so many years now and the reason why I took this course is because I am planning to include most of your courses on my team enabling program. Many thanks and cheers!

By Antoni Arco

Apr 17, 2019

Amazing

By Muskaan Dudeja

Apr 17, 2019

It was very helpful, just dipping your toes into data science. As a beginner, this course can be a great starting point.

By Sara Light

Apr 16, 2019

Nice overview course!