Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

The Data Scientist’s Toolbox, Johns Hopkins University

4.5
18,023 ratings
3,649 reviews

About this Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)

Top reviews

By LR

Sep 08, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

By AM

Jul 22, 2017

Great Primer for what Data Science is about. It also provides the infrastructure of tools needed. This was what I was after, a way to provide other data scientist hardware and infrastructure support.

Filter by:

3,522 Reviews

By Sheila Kates

Feb 22, 2019

This course is engaging and difficult to put down. I was obsessed with completing this each week and actually finished a bit earlier. I consider myself nontechnical but the format was well done.

By Ващенков Владислав Владирович

Feb 21, 2019

Info is compressed but it is still available for understanding and useful. But I think new students can have some difficulties with git or github, because theres some not so obvious commands like swap branch, commit changes etc...But it is also good for students to learn use Google and look forward for tutorials :)

By Михаил

Feb 21, 2019

It very helpful course for first steps in data science. Moreover, It helps me knew about git, github and command line. Thanks to professors for handy materials and interesting quizzes.

By Shivesh Raj Sahu

Feb 21, 2019

nice

By Joseph DiNoto

Feb 20, 2019

An excellent introduction to r, rstudio, and the basic concepts and functions of github (online version control for personal or collaborative programming projects). Great course, informative videos, lots to do and experiment with, I highly recommend it!

By Luis Adrian Flores Castillo

Feb 20, 2019

This course is essential to initiate SD

By Elisa Viciani

Feb 19, 2019

Very good course. I really enjoyed it and the provided course material was very helpful.

By

Feb 19, 2019

I really don't like the automated videos.

By Conrado Hernán Villa Gil

Feb 17, 2019

Excelent course

By Kenichi Araki

Feb 17, 2019

I liked the fact that only nominal numbers of tools are explained with clear reasons. So, I can trust the recommendations and spend my time on learning these tools.