Chevron Left
Back to American Deaf Culture

American Deaf Culture, University of Houston System

4.4
52 ratings
16 reviews

About this Course

This is a six-week course providing a historical overview of the American Deaf community and its evolving culture. Theoretical frameworks from sociology are explored. Deafness as a culture and not a disability is explained as participants are guided into the world of Deaf culture....

Top reviews

By CP

Oct 10, 2017

I've gotten an Associate's in Sign Language and learned a lot about American Deaf Culture and this was a wonderful refresher for me! I did NOT want this class to end!!\n\nPlease offer more like this!

By JM

Jun 16, 2017

I am also a CODA, and I am so happy that a course on Deaf Culture is on CourseRA. Very proud of the collaborative efforts of exposing hearing people to the deaf community. ILY!

Filter by:

16 Reviews

By Kellyann A. Adams

May 21, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this class. I am hard of hearing and I knew some of what I learned but Professor Britten taught me a great deal more about deaf culture as well. I really enjoyed this course and all of the information provided. Professor Britten was wonderful as a teacher and very easy to follow. I would definitely recommend this course to many other people.

By Laura Malone

Apr 29, 2018

Very interesting and loaded with information I had not learned before. Thank you!

By Omar Luna

Mar 23, 2018

I learned so much about deaf culture, most definitely appreciated learning about The Rehabilitation act of 1973 along with other laws that were implemented to protect those with disabilities. There is so much we take for granted, this course was great.

By Carole Colomer

Mar 10, 2018

I am hearing and have just started a new job in a deaf related structure and I feel this course has been an awesome entry point in understanding the deaf culture.

By jacqueline neumann

Jan 07, 2018

Thanks for a great class! I learned so much! I would recommend to everyone!

By Tatiana Andriushchenko

Dec 18, 2017

As a deaf (hoh) individual, seeing a proudly Deaf person as an educator about our culture and struggles was absolutely fantastic and wonderful. It's been great for my self-esteem. Hovewer, I find that this course is very introductory, I would like to also have some lectures going a little bit more in depth into certain topics. Also I found that the struggles we still face are not being discussed enough. As a deaf person, I know what my life is like, but I imagine many hearing people will be left with an impression that all our barriers are long overcome and that audism is not a thing anymore. I definitely would like you to touch on that as well.

By Aimee Gray

Dec 09, 2017

This course was very interesting and I love how it was done completely in ASL with an interpreter for hearing people. Thank you for teaching me more about deaf culture in the U.S. I am inspired to learn how to sign!

By JOHN QUINCY

Nov 24, 2017

NICE COURSE WHICH MADE ME AWARE OF SOME NEW TERMS AND SOME NEW CULTURALLY SENSITIVE WAYS TO COMMUNICATE. THANKS SO MUCH.

By Christina Parks

Oct 10, 2017

I've gotten an Associate's in Sign Language and learned a lot about American Deaf Culture and this was a wonderful refresher for me! I did NOT want this class to end!!

Please offer more like this!

By Katarina O'Dette

Sep 14, 2017

While it introduces many interesting topics, the course is mostly made up of videos that are only a minute or two in length and mention complex and interesting aspects of a topic without providing evidence, expanding on the topic, or providing an optional reading that goes into further depth. Most of this course remains very surface level and general.