Chevron Left
Back to Digital Manufacturing & Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Digital Manufacturing & Design by University at Buffalo

4.6
656 ratings
152 reviews

About the Course

This course will expose you to the transformation taking place, throughout the world, in the way that products are being designed and manufactured. The transformation is happening through digital manufacturing and design (DM&D) – a shift from paper-based processes to digital processes in the manufacturing industry. By the end of this course, you’ll understand what DMD is and how it is impacting careers, practices and processes in companies both large and small. You will gain an understanding of and appreciation for the role that technology is playing in this transition. The technology we use every day – whether it is communicating with friends and family, purchasing products or streaming entertainment – can benefit design and manufacturing, making companies and workers more competitive, agile and productive. Discover how this new approach to making products makes companies more responsive, and employees more involved and engaged, as new career paths in advanced manufacturing evolve. Main concepts of this course will be delivered through lectures, readings, discussions and various videos. This is the first course in the Digital Manufacturing & Design Technology specialization that explores the many facets of manufacturing’s “Fourth Revolution,” aka Industry 4.0, and features a culminating project involving creation of a roadmap to achieve a self-established DMD-related professional goal. To learn more about the Digital Manufacturing and Design Technology specialization, please watch the overview video by copying and pasting the following link into your web browser: https://youtu.be/wETK1O9c-CA...

Top reviews

MP

Apr 02, 2017

Thank you for giving me excellent information on digital manufacturing & design. It is very helpful course for me. Thank you University of Buffalo, The state University of New York and Coursera.

SP

Mar 03, 2019

The course has a lot of basic information, and this isn't an intensive course as mentioned. but overall the information was clear and informative. thanks coursera.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 144 Reviews for Digital Manufacturing & Design

By Wesley T

May 02, 2018

Advanced Manufacturing will hold industry discussions in the coming years. This course helps you understand the challenges that manufacturing is going through to meet the requirements of Industry 4.0.

By Michael T

Jun 15, 2018

very good and progress information !

By SARATH N

Oct 19, 2017

nice and a well prepared course on digital manufacturing.

By Seku S G

Nov 06, 2017

Very Helpful course for every budding engineer

By Mohammed S P

Aug 29, 2017

The explaination by Prof. Key English sir was simply outstanding . I recommend this for those who want to learn about future of Industrial revolution. As this way a introductory course I found it very useful.

By ALEEM A R T

Nov 24, 2017

its a very good initiative for the upcoming generations....

By Tejo R B

Sep 18, 2017

Very Good Course.

By Mohammad j n

Oct 04, 2017

a great way to learn design and manufacturing try to don't miss it.

By Haley S

Feb 06, 2017

Great visuals, content and lectures from the professors. Easy to follow!

By Senthilkumar

Jun 06, 2017

very useful and informative also reading materials are interesting. thank you for giving me the opportunity to participate and learn

By Vancho D

Dec 28, 2017

Frankly one of the best courses that I have tried and succeeded here on coursera. My background is mechanical engineering and industrial engineering and management. It was not difficult for me to understand the transition between the traditional manufacturing to digital manufacturing and design paradigm, However, I highly recommend that you take this specialization especially if you're into manufacturing and the transition to Industry 4.0. You'll take me later :)

By Marina M L

Jul 30, 2017

Awesome course to get an overview of the trends and the changes we are living. Most of the content is quite basic, so dont expect to have pratical tools to apply on the daily job. But for sure helps to know the possibilities and be in a closer touch with the new technologies in order o better present the topic in a meeting or conversation. I for sure recommend.

By Daniel K

May 31, 2018

This course is the good insight into digital manufacturing.

By 陈宇清

Nov 17, 2017

G

By Sanjeev V

Jun 24, 2018

The best online course for professionals who want to understand Industry 4.0 concepts

By srikanth s

May 24, 2017

Very well explained with the right steps

By yashar k s

Dec 02, 2017

best

By S.LAKSHMANAN

May 16, 2017

great

By VIPUL K

Apr 30, 2017

very useful

By Maria S N

Sep 30, 2017

Complete and simple to understand. This course gives a holistic overview of the current DMD approach.

By Gehad M A O

Feb 16, 2017

This course is very informative, it discusses a broad of things regarding digital manufacturing, and it can put you on the right track by letting you know about the industrial revolutions, where are you standing, and which field do you want to proceed and work in. I recommend it to anyone who wants to start a career in manufacturing, even those who are already in the field and want to refresh their information or to know broader information regarding what they are missing, or want to upgrade their factory's systems. I recommend it also to engineering students, and young technicians. Good luck everyone!

By Aileni R

Dec 26, 2017

great to learn

By Saurav K J

Oct 28, 2017

Good start of specialisation. Already feeling confident.

By Dave A

May 12, 2018

really enlighting

By Muhammad s

Sep 28, 2017

interesting course

i love it .