Chevron Left
Back to Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation by American Museum of Natural History

4.8
157 ratings
41 reviews

About the Course

This course is an introduction to ecology and ecosystem dynamics using a systems thinking lens. Through a case study on Mozambique's Gorongosa National Park, learners will explore how scientists study ecosystems, and investigate the complex array of factors that inform management efforts. At the end of the course, learners will be able to grapple with real-world conservation questions, such as whether an ecosystem can recover from anthropogenic disruption and what role humans can, and should, play in that recovery....

Top reviews

AR

Jan 05, 2019

It was a very informative course giving in depth knowledge about ecology. The lecturers conducting the course have been amazing with their work. Thanks a lot to the entire crew.

SJ

Feb 24, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. The material is comprehensive and understandable. The information is relevant and should be viewed by students at all levels. Thank you :)

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 45 Reviews for Ecology: Ecosystem Dynamics and Conservation

By Clay w

Jun 23, 2019

This is an absolutely incredible course. Many thanks to all of those involved in making this course available.

By MªCarmen H G

Jun 17, 2019

Too much reading material and not so interesing videos lectures.

By ALAMZEB A

Jun 10, 2019

it was amazing experience, to go through this course. I have learnt a lot. I am the student of Environmental Economics at Pakistan Institute of Development Economics. I want to explore the domains of Ecosystem and its influence fields, for that i got required ideas to pursue for better research in my field.

Thanks American Museum Of Natural History, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Thanks coursera for providing me this opportunity.

By Abigail J

Jun 02, 2019

This was particularly in-depth on the sciences of ecology, and having it based around a particular conservation project made it easier to follow each progressive lecture and concept that was explored.

By Заплитный И Д

May 26, 2019

Thank you very much for your hard but so fruitful work. For me, as a political scientist, it was extremely interesting to learn about various aspects of the formation, management and preservation of the environment, to get acquainted with the various theories and views of scientists-practitioners on such urgent and disturbing problems. From Russia with love.

By NGUYỄN T D

May 11, 2019

Interesting knowledge!

By Sujit K J

May 03, 2019

Informative for the students who wants to learn about Ecology.

By Orlando V R

Apr 29, 2019

It was very interesting, It give me several insights to follow an academic career on Conservation Biology

By Syed A I

Apr 26, 2019

Thank you very much for teaching this course.

By Dean B

Mar 15, 2019

Excellent content, examples, and lecturers. Thought the breadth and depth of the material was perfect. Extremely effective use of Gorongosa National Park throughout course. Enjoyed the scenes shot in the park. Appreciated the inclusion of a little math/modeling. Very satisfied with this course, enjoyed it, and feel much more knowledgeable.

By

Mar 12, 2019

Basic, but interesting course about ecology.

By Gabrielle H

Feb 26, 2019

I was looking for a course that could help me understand how scientists think about ecological problems, and I had not expected such a wonderful exposé of how younger ambitious scientists physically and mathematically test their hypotheses about what is going on in the field in order to answer their own questions about any given aspect of environment and its ecological puzzles. I was particularly blown away by the work transitioning field data and a few basic assumptions into algebraic expressions, extraordinarily impressive. But I'll admit that I had to play the videos a couple of times to get the transpositions and logic.

By JESÚS E C

Feb 25, 2019

Nice course.

Excellent course, effective and concise. Congratulations

By Sanchia J

Feb 24, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. The material is comprehensive and understandable. The information is relevant and should be viewed by students at all levels. Thank you :)

By Maggie O

Feb 09, 2019

Enjoyed this course. Very informative.

By Shannon S

Feb 05, 2019

Informative and everything is well-explained.

By Armando F B

Jan 15, 2019

I really enjoyed the course. It gave me excellent tools to approach my reasearch.

By Wesley V Z

Jan 14, 2019

Great!

By Aravind R

Jan 05, 2019

It was a very informative course giving in depth knowledge about ecology. The lecturers conducting the course have been amazing with their work. Thanks a lot to the entire crew.

By Sophia S

Dec 10, 2018

Great introduction to Ecology and Conservation with excellent professors and materials. Highly recommended. Wish there was more of the last week.

By Amir Z

Nov 28, 2018

Very interesting course, presented in a really accessible form especially to students without prior knowledge in Ecology. Just the correct mix between general ideas and theories vs deeper rigorous and mathematical concepts.

By Utku K

Oct 24, 2018

As a business management student, this course give me very wide detailed view about ecosystem dynamics and conservation. It was like 101 course for me and help to understand different patterns and processes in the field of ecosystem research.

By 陈泉睿

Oct 16, 2018

A great class, it is easy for students

By Amit K

Oct 04, 2018

Awesome course for a wildlife enthusiast

By Autumn M K

Oct 02, 2018

Great course, thank you very much! I learned a lot about ecology in general, and look forward to taking what I learned about restoration ecology, and the questions posed, forward to a tropical island restoration project where I will be volunteering. Thank you, again!