Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Music Theory

Fundamentals of Music Theory, The University of Edinburgh

4.6
783 ratings
216 reviews

About this Course

This course will introduce students to the theory of music, providing them with the skills needed to read and write Western music notation, as well as to understand, analyse, and listen informedly. It will cover material such as pitches and scales, intervals, clefs, rhythm, form, meter, phrases and cadences, and basic harmony. This course covers the fundamentals of Western music theory, from the absolute basics to some more advanced concepts and, as such, is the perfect course for beginners and more experienced musicians alike. Follow us on twitter @musictheorymooc #edmusictheory...

Top reviews

By SS

Aug 23, 2017

It was a very nice course. We were able to understand the basics of music theory and how the notations and chords work. Thank you so much to the entire staff of Edinburgh University and Coursera..:-)

By M

Nov 22, 2016

If you don't know much about music theory, it's going to be pretty challenging, and still is reachable. You learn as much as you want with this courses. I'm glad I could finish it.

Filter by:

207 Reviews

By Ruarai Mckenna

Jan 29, 2019

Excellent!

By Evgeniy Koshelev

Jan 29, 2019

Very simple and useful! Thanks to all lecturers!

By Galeno Garbe

Jan 29, 2019

Great course!

By Manuel Valenzuela

Jan 28, 2019

El curso es la mejor introducción que he encontrado a la materia. Con la profundización del estudio uno reconociendo algunas ambiguedades, pero aún así me ha ayudado mucho a desarrollar habilidades para el análisis armónico.

By Vicky Vey

Jan 27, 2019

It's an upper intermediate course reviewing everything you must know already. I have basics of music theory and had to retry this course twice. I haven't finished yet. I will when I gather more knowledge elsewhere...

By Sara Martín

Jan 17, 2019

A great course! It has been undoubtedly my favourite until now in Coursera and I highly recommend it. I would like to specially thank Dr Nikki Moran, Dr Zack Moir and Dr John Philip Kitchen for making it look easier than it is and really pleasant and enjoyable.

By 唐一鸣

Jan 08, 2019

讲的非常通俗易懂易记,很到位

By Lauro Kondarzewski Júnior

Jan 05, 2019

With simple language and didactic explanation, all complicated concepts are understandable and available for everyone who intends to learn music.

By Xingcong Li

Dec 27, 2018

Good to newbie to start from music theory. But got a bit confused when watching the videos.

By Amanda Mylcraine

Dec 16, 2018

Way too difficult and they don't teach in a way that will help you remember the content that you learn. It's taught way too fast and the final exam is a killer!!! It starts out really simple and boring and then it changes into crazy hard college level work!!