Chevron Left
Back to Electric Power Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Electric Power Systems by University at Buffalo

4.7
288 ratings
69 reviews

About the Course

This course familiarizes you with standards and policies of the electric utility industry, and provides you with basic vocabulary used in the business. It introduces the electric power system, from generation of the electricity all the way to the wall plug. You will learn about the segments of the system, and common components like power cables and transformers. This course is for individuals considering a career in the energy field (who have a high school diploma, at minimum, and basic knowledge of mathematics), and existing energy sector employees with less than three years of experience who have not completed similar training and would benefit from a course of foundational industry concepts. The course is a combination of online lectures, videos, readings and discussions. This is the first course in the Energy Production, Distribution & Safety specialization that explores various facets of the power sector, and features a culminating project involving creation of a roadmap to achieve a self-established, energy-related professional goal....

Top reviews

NW

Jan 08, 2019

Great entry course. Very easy for those that do not have a background in the subject. I am currently in the process of transitioning industry. It was good for a refresher overview.

SC

Mar 13, 2019

OVERALL SYLLABUS COVERAGE IS GOOD\n\nQUESTIONS STANDARD MAY BE IMPROVED\n\nSYLLABUS DEALTS ONLY ABOUT THE US POWER SYSTEM NETWORK DATA\n\nOPTIONS FOR SOME QUESTIONS ARE NOT CLEAR

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 73 Reviews for Electric Power Systems

By Maria J B

May 15, 2019

Amazing content but it would have been better if instead of filming a well-known professor reading mechanically some sentences on a screen, he took the time to explain with his own words, gestures, natural intonation what was being said.

For me, it was better to just read the transcriptions than to watch the video.

Other than that, great!

By Ramya R

Mar 14, 2019

Course syllabus is easier and no difficulty in completing the assignment with the provided material.

Most of the questions are straightforward question not a twisty one.

Some questions and choices are confusing, unable to get clear idea what exactly it meant for.

Content focuses on US electric power system only. It will be useful if worldwide data given related to power system.

By Darren M

Jan 25, 2019

Overall this provided some great introductory information. My only problem was the instructor was hard to listen to at times as you could tell he was just reading from a script. Suggestion: there is one instance in the copy during the busbars section where "busbars" is typed out "buzz bars". It may be helpful to change that for people since it was a quiz question.

By Muhammad F A

Nov 08, 2018

an informative course but unfortunately the instructor looks like he is in the process of reading from a teleprompter rather than teaching in an engaging manner.

By Vatsal S P

Nov 02, 2018

Very theoretical and is simply a set of speeches and not lectures.

It is a more of a seminar than a course and hence learning is very difficult.

By Kumail R

Jun 18, 2019

I learned a lot in this course. I hope it may prove beneficial for me in my future.

By Haris A

Jun 14, 2019

Descent Lectures with informative learning and practice exercises. Hope this will help me in industry :)

By Sneha G

Jun 08, 2019

Amazing course by Grinberg professor especially the Smart grid module

By Mikaeel K B

Jun 01, 2019

Amazing Course! Cheers!

By Zain A K

May 25, 2019

Exceptional

By MUHAMMAD U S

May 21, 2019

this cource is a veru helpfull at basic level.

By MD I A

May 06, 2019

Very Useful Contents

By Babar N

Apr 25, 2019

best

By Linwei Z

Apr 23, 2019

Good information

By SREERAG K

Apr 18, 2019

Help my carrier. Thanks coursera

By RAMI M A

Apr 10, 2019

GREAT

By Rohith P

Apr 08, 2019

I feel like in Week 2, the professor should have gone through the concepts in depth.

By Deleted A

Mar 31, 2019

A good high level course on electric power system fundamentals. It helps to have some beginner knowledge.

By Abdualrahman M S B

Mar 26, 2019

its informative course

By SAQR T

Mar 19, 2019

the course took me on a wonderful journey through which I refurbish my knowledge in Electrical power systems

By SUBRAMANI C

Mar 13, 2019

OVERALL SYLLABUS COVERAGE IS GOOD

QUESTIONS STANDARD MAY BE IMPROVED

SYLLABUS DEALTS ONLY ABOUT THE US POWER SYSTEM NETWORK DATA

OPTIONS FOR SOME QUESTIONS ARE NOT CLEAR

By Arturo A F

Mar 12, 2019

Good overview for people with no Electrical experience and good refresher for EE

By Geraldo P d S

Mar 11, 2019

Congratulations to all team by this nice course. Geraldo.

By SREENIVASULU R D

Mar 11, 2019

This is a good course for an Electrical Students. this covers entire Electrical system

By Otuyo M K

Mar 06, 2019

Satisfactory