Chevron Left
Back to Assessing Achievement with the ELL in Mind

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Assessing Achievement with the ELL in Mind by Arizona State University

4.6
66 ratings
25 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn how to design assessments around the needs of your ELL students and their language level. You will learn how to incorporate language and content requirements for both formative and summative assessment types. You will learn to assess your ELL students through the use of project and task-based assignments. You will learn to use and modify rubrics to align to and measure student achievement of your language and content learning objectives. The course will also briefly cover strategies for supporting ELL students during standardized testing. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: * Conceptualize theories of authentic assessment as they apply to second language learners * Design formative assessment types incorporating language and content objectives * Design summative assessment types incorporating language and content objectives * Incorporate project and task-based assignments as assessment tools for ELLs * Design rubrics that align to language and content objectives for your ELL(s) * Apply the use of rubrics, both language and content, to the work of your ELL(s). * Support your ELL(s) as they participate in standardized testing...

Top reviews

SD

Dec 20, 2015

WOW! I learned so much my head is spinning--EXCELLENT Course!\n\nAmazing Content! Fantastic Examples! Well Organized! Superb Teachers!\n\nThank you for the opportunity to learn!

AL

Feb 08, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. It was a great learning for me and to understand how assessments can be created and modified for different learners.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 25 Reviews for Assessing Achievement with the ELL in Mind

By Alexander C

Mar 20, 2019

I strongly recommend this course since it unveils important facts about the evaluation process for educators and students as well.

By Malcolm B

May 08, 2016

Great unit. Highly recommended. Really appreciate the interviews with staff working in the field as well.

By Deanne N

May 06, 2018

Great course. A great way to learn more about assessment techniques and how teachers can help students who are learning English.

By Meibis G V

May 21, 2018

Excellent Course!

By zachary r

Aug 21, 2016

Very informative and helpful in assisting teachers with learning how to assess their ELL students.

By Juliet H

Mar 01, 2016

I am an intern school psychologist, and was concerned that the content of the specialization would not benefit me as a practitioner. I was going to just take this Assessing Achievement with the ELL in Mind and not the other courses. I am eternally grateful that I decided to take all three courses in the series. I have a better appreciation for both instructors and students. Much of the content and strategies benefit all learners, including myself. I would highly recommend this class, and the

By Rafael M C D

Jan 09, 2016

Very useful! Highly recommended!

By Anari E D

Aug 14, 2016

This course helps me to improve my teaching skills

By Maria S

Feb 18, 2017

Another interesting course. It offers a wide range of resources and content, and the learning outcomes and objectives are clear.

By Lorena P

Feb 05, 2018

Excellent Course!!

By Archna L

Feb 08, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. It was a great learning for me and to understand how assessments can be created and modified for different learners.

By Prasolova S I

Jan 27, 2016

Very interesting! I am enjoying taking this course!

By Ana R P

Feb 25, 2018

Is a great course, Ana Pelayo.

By Susan D

Dec 20, 2015

WOW! I learned so much my head is spinning--EXCELLENT Course!

Amazing Content! Fantastic Examples! Well Organized! Superb Teachers!

Thank you for the opportunity to learn!

By Nancy P R d V

Jun 13, 2017

Excelent.

By Zina I

Jul 19, 2016

I truly enjoyed this course. As a speech-language pathologist, learning the process of assessments for ELLs was especially helpful as I work in the city with very diverse populations. Thank you for the wonderful course!

By Verônica d O R

Feb 09, 2016

Excellent course which provides sources and ideas to help the teacher in the classroom. It is trully designed for and to teachers who have to deal with ELL on a daily basis.

By Sarah C

Apr 14, 2016

Practical and useful!

By De'Marley W

Mar 07, 2016

Informative!

By Amadou A A

Mar 26, 2016

cool

By Sergio H S

Jan 25, 2016

Quite useful if you are trying to become a better teacher for your students.

By Carla S

Jul 24, 2018

It has clarified many concepts I had on objectives and assessments

By Jerome C

Mar 30, 2016

As a seasoned teacher, 20 years, much of this content is intuitive or has already been in place in my classroom. The course validated much of the methodology I already use, but I did lose interest from time to time.

By Michele F

Nov 19, 2017

Good overview of assessment for ELLs. Sometimes the videos were a little too similar in format to maintain interest. I liked the links to outside videos and resources. Overall, well done.

By Colin d L - H

Apr 26, 2016

The course can be informative, but the presentation needs some work. All of the instructional videos were merely a person reading a Power Point presentation to the viewer. The "in class" examples appeared to be completely hypothetical and were also read to the viewer without any video demonstration of how the presented information works in an actual class.

In addition, the written information in the videos was confusingly organized and had not been fully edited. In multiple videos, there were typos. In at least one video, the instructors had not fully deleted the sentences from a previous version of a slide. When the revised slide was presented to the viewer, a word from a previous version was in the middle of the sentence. In addition, the previous version was obviously about a different subject.

I was disappointed and continually frustrated with this course, especially since the instructors required me to pay fifty dollars in order to take the module quizzes and the final assessment. I have no problem paying for a good product. However, the professionalism displayed in the course was incredibly lacking.