Chevron Left
Back to Emotions: a Philosophical Introduction

Emotions: a Philosophical Introduction, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona

4.1
180 ratings
46 reviews

About this Course

Philosophy is like sex: sure you can get some interesting results, but that's not why we do it. Going one step beyond…why do you FEEL pain or pleasure? Do plants have emotions? How is possible that some people do not understand other’s emotions? Emotions seem to be everywhere, giving meaning to all events of our lives. They are the backbone of social activities as well as they drive the cognitive processes of several living entities. Several animals, including humans, have emotions but…what about machines?...Do machine can have emotions? This course will help you to understand and to identify most important philosophical ideas and debates about emotions, as well as it will provide you a rich source of data about neurological, psychological or anthropological analysis of emotions. In a nutshell: this is a course to feel and think about....

Top reviews

By TC

Aug 05, 2016

Love this course. Highly recommend to anyone who wants to understand emotions. Jordi, I can't wait to do your next course.

By BS

Aug 19, 2017

excellent class, truly unique and mind expanding, do it again!

Filter by:

45 Reviews

By Ritesh Kapoor

Feb 15, 2019

Nice course to start with..!! you will learn lot about emotions, & unlearn may things as well...!

thanks..

By Leticia Passos Affini

Jan 24, 2019

Excelente Curso

By mansi gupta

Jul 02, 2018

it is very easy

By Harika

Jun 30, 2018

Its a great course that explains how our environment and the language we speak effect how we feel/express the emotions and how they play a major role in our cognitive tasks and also how the states of emotion are integrated part in brains cognitive functioning.Good intro to know how techniques like reinforcement learning are used also nice article on how our brains process and store information based on the idea of convolutions.

By Djana Ruby

Jun 02, 2018

Good course!

By Shaini Baiju

May 31, 2018

It was really easy topic to understand. We can understand the depth of the emotions and its scientific approach.

By Enrique Javier Pérez Romero

May 04, 2018

Seria genial verlo tmb es español...

By Matheus Adriano Ferreira Coelho

Apr 22, 2018

A good introductory course.

By Shlomo

Apr 11, 2018

It's hard to understand what the professor is saying due to his accent.

By Estefania Rojo Bustamante

Mar 25, 2018

Interesting Course with a lot of information not only from a philosopical perspective but also from different scientific approaches!! Nice and very usefull bibliography !!