Chevron Left
Back to English Composition I

English Composition I, Duke University

4.6
311 ratings
85 reviews

About this Course

You will gain a foundation for college-level writing valuable for nearly any field. Students will learn how to read carefully, write effective arguments, understand the writing process, engage with others' ideas, cite accurately, and craft powerful prose. Course Learning Objectives • Summarize, analyze, question, and evaluate written and visual texts • Argue and support a position • Recognize audience and disciplinary expectations • Identify and use the stages of the writing process • Identify characteristics of effective prose • Apply proper citation practices • Discuss applying your writing knowledge to other writing occasions...

Top reviews

By JR

Mar 08, 2017

Very helpful for writers and future career writers. Plus the professor is extremely down to earth. Was not expecting that and I forgive her for being a Duke fan. Go Tar Heels!!!! jk jk

By AA

Dec 15, 2017

I very excited to get this certificate and improved my knowledge writing and skills to get better understand for create a fiction with rules that I learned in Duke University

Filter by:

83 Reviews

By Al-Da

Nov 25, 2018

This course was amazing! It taught me how to write assignments, how to peer-asses, how to write in academic style, how to cite, and taught me about all citation schools. It was fun, challenging and a great experience. I was able to discover my abilities in writing, which I was very unsure about. It provided me with all that I need, to start my first college year full with confident.

The tutor was very well-acknowledged, and she was so nice.

Thank you Denise Comer, and I hope that you would make another course, about another aspect of writing.

By Linta Mustafa

Nov 20, 2018

I really liked this course. It was very beneficial for my academic writing.

By Renato Giancarlos Meza Gamarra

Oct 18, 2018

It was an excellent option to practice basics aspects of writing as well as to discover new ones to improve at it

By Jonathan Iván Lucero Avendaño

Oct 11, 2018

The contents of the course are not bad, but the peer review system is an absolute failure. If you enroll into this course get ready to get absolutely no useful feedback. It is ridiculous that the course is called English composition and yet 70% of my peers were unable to speak or write english properly. I'm not an english native speaker but I consider that my english is decent enough to do my assignments properly, that's why it is so frustrating that I spent time reviewing carefully other people's texts only to get absolute crap in return either by people who can't speak english, or by english speakers that are so lazy that they can't make a little effort to give you any sort of useful feedback. So don't waste your time. You can find all the knowledge that this course offers in other sites without having to waste your time with dumb or lazy peers.

By Mustapha El Asri

Oct 04, 2018

It's really an academic course, I do enjoy on the course ☺☺☺☺☺

By Sabrina Lee

Sep 06, 2018

This is so confusing to use, but it got a little better as you went.

By Deborah Stuart

Jul 19, 2018

Excellent course. I learned so much about writing and it opened up new possibilities for me. The lectures were interesting and Dr. Comer presents her information in an open and enjoyable manner. I wish there was an English Composition ll course.

By 陈文怡

Jun 28, 2018

fantastic

By Shikhar Sachan

Jun 26, 2018

One of the best of its clan. Thanks Coursera for providing this.

By Lucia Bevilacqua

Jun 21, 2018

Helpful, informative, and engaging! I've always been at the top of my classes in English, but this is helping me sharpen my skills even more and apply them to my life.