Chevron Left
Back to Experimentation for Improvement

Experimentation for Improvement, McMaster University

4.8
441 ratings
126 reviews

About this Course

We are always using experiments to improve our lives, our community, and our work. Are you doing it efficiently? Or are you (incorrectly) changing one thing at a time and hoping for the best? In this course, you will learn how to plan efficient experiments - testing with many variables. Our goal is to find the best results using only a few experiments. A key part of the course is how to optimize a system. We use simple tools: starting with fast calculations by hand, then we show how to use FREE software. The course comes with slides, transcripts of all lectures, subtitles (English, Spanish and Portuguese; some Chinese and French), videos, audio files, source code, and a free textbook. You get to keep all of it, all freely downloadable. This course is for anyone working in a company, or wanting to make changes to their life, their community, their neighbourhood. You don't need to be a statistician or scientist! There's something for everyone in here. ⎯⎯⎯⎯⎯⎯⎯⎯⎯⎯⎯⎯⎯⎯⎯ Over 1000 people have completed this online course. What have prior students said about this course? "This definitely is one of the most fruitful courses I have participated at Coursera, considering the takeaways and implementations! And so far I finished 12 [courses]." "Excelente curso, flexible y con suficiente material didáctico fácilmente digerible y cómodo. No importa si se tiene pocas bases matemáticas o estadísticas, el curso proporciona casi toda explicación necesaria para un entendimiento alto." "I wish I had enrolled in your course years ago -- it would have saved us a lot of time in optimizing experimental conditions." Jason Eriksen, 3 Jan 2017 "Interesting and developing both analytical and creative thinking. The lecturer took care to bring lots of real live examples which are fun to analyze." 20 February 2016. "... love your style of presentation, and the examples you took from everyday life to explain things. It is very difficult to make such a mathematical course accessible and comprehensible to this wide a variety of people!" ⎯⎯⎯⎯⎯⎯⎯⎯⎯⎯⎯⎯⎯⎯⎯...

Top reviews

By EB

Feb 19, 2018

Very good course,and an excellent instructor. Thank you very much Professor Kevin Dunn.\n\nI enjoyed your course, and I really appreciate the time and effort you put into those lessons

Filter by:

124 Reviews

By José de Jesús Aguayo Haro

Apr 19, 2019

Excelente Curso¡ Muy bien explicado, muy aterrizados cada uno de los conceptos, explicados con ejemplos sencillos, dentro de lo complejo que puede ser este tema. Feliciades a Kevin Dunn, un excelente profesor y colega Ingeniero Qúímico.

By Steven Zink

Apr 11, 2019

Satisfying course content and structure. Reasonable course speed. Nice, practical reference. Good introduction to design of experiments and response surface methods.

By Ali Bin Naveed

Mar 24, 2019

Very well designed course for individuals looking to understand RSM

By Hizbullah Malik

Mar 15, 2019

very helpful

By West Kristian D. Paraiso

Feb 26, 2019

Kevin was superb! It was so obvious that he had deep knowledge and experience on Experimental Design because he was able to explain the concepts in layman's terms without making it overly simple. I also appreciated how he used diverse examples in terms of the kinds of experiments used, despite his background in engineering. Thank you, Kevin! I am excited to apply what I have learned here in my work.

By Jean-Philippe Gaudry

Feb 24, 2019

Excellent course!

By Patrick Batoon

Feb 11, 2019

This is a great course to learn how to perform efficient experiments by varying multiple factors at a time. For scientists who do R&D research, this is an invaluable tool that will set you apart from your colleagues. In this course you learn "Experimental Design" with a bit of R code to get you started. The lessons progress at an even and steady pace that helps you retain information taught in previous sections. This was a very well executed course.

By Felipe Augusto Franceschini

Feb 04, 2019

É um curso muito bom que te ensina a conduzir experimentos de maneira sistemática a fim de obter melhores resultados.

By Suyanne Costa Silva

Feb 01, 2019

Perfect!

By Marwa Abd El Kader Mohamed Ali Zaater

Jan 27, 2019

Amazing course! I really enjoyed myself during learning. The instructor is amazing and very professional. I really appreciate the fact that it contains examples from many different fields. It's really for everyone who wants to improve any adopted process. Thank you :)