Chevron Left
Back to Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part II

Financial Engineering and Risk Management Part II, Columbia University

4.7
410 ratings
66 reviews

About this Course

Financial Engineering is a multidisciplinary field involving finance and economics, mathematics, statistics, engineering and computational methods. The emphasis of FE & RM Part II will be on the use of simple stochastic models to (i) solve portfolio optimization problems (ii) price derivative securities in various asset classes including equities and credit and (iii) consider some advanced applications of financial engineering including algorithmic trading and the pricing of real options. We will also consider the role that financial engineering played during the financial crisis. We hope that students who complete the course and the prerequisite course (FE & RM Part I) will have a good understanding of the "rocket science" behind financial engineering. But perhaps more importantly, we hope they will also understand the limitations of this theory in practice and why financial models should always be treated with a healthy degree of skepticism....

Top reviews

By MU

Aug 23, 2018

One of the best courses available on Coursera! If you're interested in Quantitative Finance or trying to get a good idea of what financial engineering entails, please take this course.

By DL

Nov 20, 2015

This course is challenging and the skills learnt are valuable. The materials are well-made and formulas well-defined. I hope they provide more practice quizzes.

Filter by:

62 Reviews

By Simone Boi

Sep 14, 2018

No proof of many formula, some concepts should be introduced in more detail in order to make them fully comprehensible, e. g. LETF

By Md Hamza Umar

Aug 23, 2018

One of the best courses available on Coursera! If you're interested in Quantitative Finance or trying to get a good idea of what financial engineering entails, please take this course.

By Ishmeet Singh

May 07, 2018

Tough but good!

By Chet Sharma

Apr 21, 2018

excellent course! questions were hard and had to really work to get the grades. I'll keep going back to the questions from time to time for a review.

By marco zazzini

Apr 02, 2018

nice course but more pratice exercises won't hurt

By Nelson de J. Martinez Cedeño

Mar 30, 2018

Excelent course. The 5th week about Gaussian Copula was very dificult for me. I suggest to improve the explanation of this topic, and to give bibliography. I liked very much the Real Option themes. I would like to have the implementation of natural gas and electricity examples in excel. Thanks to professors Martin Haugh and Garud Iyengar and to the mentors in the forums.

By Xin Zhang

Mar 17, 2018

The professors explained the concepts very clear in an intuitive way. The contents are real stuff and covers a wide range. Although some of them cannot go into depth, useful references are provided. I learned a lot. Thank you!

By Balachandra Prabhu H

Feb 06, 2018

The course was interesting with challenging quizzes. I enjoyed it but struggled to complete the quizzes.

My only humble submission is that the course could have been made little more elaborate so that the understanding could have been better. More examples and exercise/quizzes would have given more practical value.

Thank you for both of your extraordinary efforts in bringing out this practical and valuable course.

By Vincent Li

Jan 29, 2018

very informative, difficult, and covers all the major topics. It's a bit brief in some areas, but I wouldn't want to do it all in one module. I don't see how Hull is follow-up material. We covered theory, options and fixed income applications more in-depth but some of the practical, industry-specific content is not present in the Hull book.

By Pengchong Liu

Jan 12, 2018

Poor explanation. Lots of technical details. And it uses Excel.....