Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
374 ratings
92 reviews

About the Course

This course is designed to provide a basic understanding of financial statements with an emphasis on the balance sheet. However, to understand accounting driven financial statements, it is important to recognize that accounting is less about counting and more about measuring. “What is it that is being measured?” Well, as the course unfolds, you will learn about the three measurement questions and how the balance sheet helps to answer the first two of these questions. By touring a real company and interviewing real business people, the course describes the basic content of financial statements in a simple yet relevant context. The goal of the course is to leave a lasting impression about what balance sheet consists of and what it reveals. The next course in the Fundamentals of Accounting Specialization completes the conversation by addressing the remaining measurement question. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Describe the purpose of a balance sheet. • Define the three components of a balance sheet. • Recognize and understand the meaning of several items typically presented on a balance sheet. • Explain the broader purpose of financial statements and the role of accounting in producing the financial statements. • Read and, to some extent, interpret real-world balance sheets. If you enjoy this business course and are interested in an MBA, consider applying to the iMBA, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price offered by the University of Illinois. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

SN

Oct 25, 2017

I really enjoyed the professor's clear explanations. This has helped me understand the balance sheet, which will help me understand my current and future companies more clearly. Thanks!

BM

Aug 27, 2016

This course is a great introduction to understanding Balance Sheets and has been a big help to me in my job. I highly recommend this course and I really liked the Professor.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 92 Reviews for Understanding Financial Statements: Company Position

By David Y

Jun 11, 2019

Simple and thorough.

By Paloma S d J

May 18, 2019

Excellent

By Cindy S

Mar 25, 2019

Educational course for multi purpose functioning

By Nagraj N

Mar 14, 2019

Nice - Simple with demos!!

By Sonia M

Mar 12, 2019

Very well presented class. Made easy to understand and the lecturer spoke and presented concepts at the perfect pace for me.

By Mark S

Mar 04, 2019

Well done with very easy-to-understand concepts. The presentation was very good.

By Julio C R R

Feb 05, 2019

Excellent, very usefull in my days.

By Ahmed h e

Nov 21, 2018

So Great Course

By K S A

Nov 08, 2018

IT WAS BEST COURSE FOR UNDERSTANDING FINANCIAL STATEMENT

By Stella A

Oct 25, 2018

Good course/

By 李泽南

Jul 28, 2018

very helpful

By Haopeng Z

Jun 28, 2018

excellent!

By Debbie J

Jun 27, 2018

The course was quick and too the point. The instructor made it very fun and interesting.

By Gina F

Jun 09, 2018

the information is a bit dated and there are little to no students taking this so no peers to review your work....

By Jeffrey N

Jun 08, 2018

I've taken a number of accounting classes in the past and have a fairly good understanding of transition basics. This course illustrated in a very simple but informative way financial statements through practical, easy to understand examples. It was clear that a lot of thought, energy and effort went into this courses preparation. It exemplified the idea that you don't need to "make things any more complicated than they need to be" to deliver the information at hand.

By Joseph E M

May 13, 2018

Great Course

By 施倩倩

May 13, 2018

pretty god course for principles of accounting. I will strongly advise this course to other students.

By Justin W S

Apr 27, 2018

Great introduction for those totally unfamiliar with accounting and balance sheets. It sounds so simply, but the professor's basic definition of a balance sheet and a financial statement gave me (a complete novice) a great grasp of accounting and its goal.

By José A S R

Apr 25, 2018

Excellent!

By Ankit S

Apr 04, 2018

Great Course and helped me lot in learning many new things, that can help me to grow in my current organisation.

By Ostapenko S

Apr 01, 2018

It`s pity to say, but peer-graded assighnment is too hard to pass due to lack of students. Every time peer-graded tasks cause a long term problems for students to pass as soon as they finish course.

By John E S

Mar 25, 2018

Quite good course, but could have been more comprehensive in my opinion. Compared to other Coursera courses I have taken, it did not require so much work.

By chakravarthy

Jan 27, 2018

Too superficial.

By Maged N S E

Jan 10, 2018

Yes the course is more than amazing but I suggest that the peer graded assignment needs to be a graded quiz instead ..because I have finished the course 2 days ago and now waiting for the certificate and no one unfortunately graded my work yet ! so please guys make it a quiz not assignment .

Thanks

By Clement A

Jan 05, 2018

Excellent course. Brilliant interaction with the local community. It also inspires enterpreneurship.