Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Fluid-Solid Interactions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Fluid-Solid Interactions by École Polytechnique

4.8
224 ratings
60 reviews

About the Course

What is fluid-solid interactions ? It is what happens when the motions of a fluid and of a solid are somehow coupled. This happens all the time, around you when leaves flutter in the wind, inside you when your heart beats, above you when wings of a plane vibrate, under the sea... The idea behind this MOOC is to give you the basic tools to be able to predict and eventually mitigate things called flutter, galloping, sloshing, vortex-induced vibrations, added mass, to cite a few. We are going to consider any possible domains of applications such as civil engineering, aerospace engineering, nuclear engineering , ocean engineering, biomechanics and even food processing ! This is why we called the course “Fundamentals of Fluid Solid Interactions ”. There are so many phenomena and so many models that we need to work together on the basic mechanisms . If you want to see how fluid-solid interactions work, and be able to use that knowledge, join us ! A first session of the course was run in early 2016, with learners from over 100 countries. It is now available with subtitles, in English and now in Chinese. See the video at http://goo.gl/YKSMnD...

Top reviews

KS

Mar 25, 2019

A fantastic course with great instructors and great examples. I like the comparisons between theory and practical. One of the best courses I've ever taken. Awesome work

RJ

Sep 22, 2016

Lessons were pretty concise, engaging and well arranged. Quizzes were relevant and stimulating. Would love to take an advanced version.\n\nThanks to the team.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 63 Reviews for Fundamentals of Fluid-Solid Interactions

By Luis F R C

Apr 04, 2019

They do not explain the origin of the equations, they just show to you final results, I think is helpful if you just want to know some models in a faster way, but if you want to learn more deeply it is not the best course.

I suggest to you to develope the equations to make the students fully understand what is going on.

By Hassan N

Jul 05, 2019

This course helped me understand the FSI very well! thanks to all creators!

By Beatriz M L

Jul 05, 2019

The course is very interesting, specially the practical application's videos. It would be improve by teaching who to solve problems step by step.

By BAIRI S

Jun 13, 2019

Highly appreciate the entire team for making the subject comprehensible. I would like to suggest a small background course on the mathematics and solid dynamics, for the advanced version of this course.

By Martin S

May 21, 2019

Excellent course by Prof. de Langre.

By Florian L B

Apr 25, 2019

Very interesting, but tough to follow since it features a lot of advanced physics and mathematics. Eye opening moments regarding dimensionless numbers, lift, instabilities. And fantastic lab sessions. A big thank you to the team around Emmanuel de Langre!

By Federico R

Apr 05, 2019

Very useful course for understanding the fundamentals of fluid-solid interaction modeling

By Kevin S

Mar 25, 2019

A fantastic course with great instructors and great examples. I like the comparisons between theory and practical. One of the best courses I've ever taken. Awesome work

By Adrian L M T

Mar 21, 2019

very good

By Josué J S Z

Mar 18, 2019

Muy burn curso

By

Mar 15, 2019

One of the Best Courses Ever!

By Chen J

Mar 15, 2019

A vivid lesson! But a little bit hard for me. Expect for more exercises and examples.

By 경태 임

Jan 23, 2019

This is wonderful lecture. In this lecture, professor elaborate windows in graph, two-way phenomenon, instabilities, vibrations, and fluid-structure interaction.

By Yuan T

Jan 21, 2019

This course is very helpful for me, it let me know the mechanism of some basic phenomena in our nature. I know know that these phenomena is not only very interesting, but also follow scientific criteria. After understanding these basis theories, I fall in love with FSI and would like take further courses about FSI.

By Pankaj

Dec 04, 2018

best course

By Rishikesh G R

Nov 08, 2018

A great course which unlike most other MOOCs deals with advanced concepts.

By Veera B C S

Nov 07, 2018

Very well classified and great course structure.

By reza p

Sep 23, 2018

this course is very useful for me and my thesis.

By Kumar S

Aug 28, 2018

It was an awesome experience completing this course. In such a short duration, many things were discussed. But, still much much more to be learnt. I shall be highly interested in all other courses too regarding FSI and especially VIV.

Thank you Coursera, Thank you all instructors.

By shardul v s

Jul 08, 2018

A good and course for the fundamentals of FSI. And they taught so much in short duration.

By Tahsin G

Jul 04, 2018

Extremely helpful.

By Vijay S

Jun 09, 2018

This was very nicely explained giving all the practical applications.

By Koushik M

Jun 06, 2018

This is a very good course to start-off with Fluid Solid interactions. The course content is well organized and very neatly explained at a fundamental level, which enhances the understanding of the course recipients.

By Yoann R

May 17, 2018

Very good course to get the basics of FSI.

By Osama M

Apr 11, 2018

Fantastic, thank you :).