Chevron Left
Back to Forensic Accounting and Fraud Examination

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Forensic Accounting and Fraud Examination by West Virginia University

4.7
1,233 ratings
350 reviews

About the Course

Everyday across the world, thousands of businesses are victimized by fraud. Who commits these bad acts? Why? And, how? In this course we are going to help you answer the questions: who commits fraud, why and how. We’ll also help you develop skills for catching them....

Top reviews

KG

Apr 25, 2017

Amazing course! please offer more courses like this on fraud examination and forensic accounting. I would also be interested to take a course on Internal audit, Internal controls and res management.

SS

Aug 07, 2018

I liked everything in this course. But for one- I feel for all the quizzes, the right answer must be given so that we get to know where we are wrong. Only explanation as to why it is wrong is given.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 346 Reviews for Forensic Accounting and Fraud Examination

By Dragana Đ

Dec 06, 2018

Final quiz has 60 questions but there is no possibilities to " save" answers and proceed later, all questions must be answered in one access.

By Mohammad S N

Nov 03, 2018

I really like this online course because we can study from the comfort of our home as per our convenience. We can also study this anytime. Lecturers from west Virginia university explain everything properly. Also the transcript helps us. It would have been better if transcript were organized into paragraphs for our ease. Additional reading materials also should have been provided so we can further clear our concepts. Other than that this was great!

By Ricardo J O

Feb 03, 2016

Positive: It was refreshing to see this offering in Coursera. It is an important topic and there is limited amount of offerings (the Wharton course in accounting analytics crosses in the benfords law topic). The discussions in Madoff, Snowden, etc are positive to stimulate critical thinking. The approach was solid. The videos with real fraudsters were very good allowing to connect the theory to practice. The final exam with 60 questions is also very positive to force/stimulate the student to 'cement' the knowledge gained.

Negative: This course was shockingly short. If discounted the weekly videos with real examples of frauds, per week there was only about 20-30 minutes of 'real' materials. This is not nearly enough a balanced output of resources to allow students to grasp the concepts. Institutions like Wharton, U. Michigan, U. Illinois, U. Virginia and Yale are packaging in their top courses/specializations at least 1.5 to 3 hours per module (what can have between 4 and 11 modules), plus resources - slides, readings, excel spreadsheets and others. This is an enormous gap. Also - although it was positive to see the materials of the collegue and acfe sites, more was expected. For example, it would be extremely valuable to have resources related to Bernie Madoff, Armstrong, Edward Snowden to engage on a more dynamic discussion. The slides used to back the video lectures should also been made available. Also in some topics more detail was expected. For example, Benford's Law. It should been shown the formula used, what is the threshold value to raise suspicion that manipulation might be present in the financials and also what are considered to be normal values.

Overall it is positive to see your offering but I think it can be improved and add a lot more valuable.

I wish you luck.

By Sunil M

Jun 17, 2019

It was a great learning experience by opting this Course... It'll help me by grooming my Fraud Investigation knowledge..

By WAKAS A T

Jun 15, 2019

Very informative course. I would like to thanks to Coursera.com for providing me this opportunity to get this certification. This course has enhanced my understanding of fraud investigation and forensic accounting and would definitely enhance my career goal. I specially thank to Dr. Richard Riley, Ph.D, Dr. Richard Dull, Ph.D and John Gill, J.D., CFE for their excellence teaching skills and guiding us throughout the course.

By Edher E V P

Jun 09, 2019

Incredible course, it goes to the basics and covers a great introduction of forensic accounting. It uses simple terms to explain and uses many examples of large frauds that have occured.

I finally came with the fact that with the tools provided and the simple way to explain helped me to learn a lot of this field.

Thank you.

By Daniel C F

Jun 04, 2019

I enjoyed this course overall, however, I was hoping it would be more detailed in how to tell and how to find or locate accounting fraud. They talk about some of the software tools used in Accounting Fraud, but it would be nice to hear more about these software tools or maybe some examples of when they were used? I do recommend it!

By Enrique U U

May 25, 2019

Great course, important basic concepts useful for my day-by-day job!!!

By Mandar c

May 24, 2019

Very good course For Any One to Make their career in this field

By Sargun D S

May 23, 2019

Provides great insight on the Frauds that have taken place on the global level. The course guides you through various aspects of fraud examination and helps you understand each aspect with the help of examples from real life frauds. Discussions and tests help analyse the understanding. Extremely engaging and useful

By Jedidiah W

May 23, 2019

I learned a lot of information in a short period of time, but it did not seem rushed or forced. I really enjoyed this course. It was my first and I hope to do more in the future.

By HEYRAMB T

May 21, 2019

Very informative course and I definitely share this course to my friends also

By Zeeshan D

May 20, 2019

It has been a wonderful journey to understand Forensic Accounting and Fraud Examination step by step, and its integration with internal auditing.

By Krystal M

May 09, 2019

The content is great and easy to understand. The layout of this course works well and the professors are great!

By Chloe L

May 07, 2019

Very interesting course. It gives you a basic overview of fraud and money laundering.

By Nolen J F

May 04, 2019

The instructors of this course have excellent credentials, and the research that is cited is the best in the business. Thank you for the work!

By Anil K D

May 03, 2019

The course content, material, videos, case studies and clarity provided by all the

By Brendan D

May 01, 2019

Difficult. The questions are worded in a tricky manner to fake you out. I retook many times.

By Anar H

Apr 29, 2019

Very important and beneficial course. Thanks a lot for providing this kind of invaluable material for us.

By Ahmed A

Apr 24, 2019

Brilliant, thrilling and love the way the instructors taught this course.

By Bhargav M

Apr 23, 2019

Nice and short course. Gives concise introduction to the field.

By SUNIL T

Apr 22, 2019

This is well designed course focusing on Fraud Examination and basics on Forensic Accounting. i liked the mix of experts from academic and professional background. The videos and use cases were interesting and provided good insight on approach towards fraud examination. I hope the learning will help me sharpen my skills as fraud prevention expert in a leading bank in India. sunil.tiwari@outlook.com

By Rubén M R

Apr 22, 2019

very good learning, with techniques and practical cases

By Fausto A A B

Apr 16, 2019

Great experience and knowledge about fraud examination and forensic accounting.

By Cristina J

Apr 11, 2019

Excelente, me ha dado conocimientos y herramientas muy útiles para entender, detectar y prevenir el fraude. Muy completo y aplicable incluso fuera de los Estados Unidos.