Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Game Development

Introduction to Game Development, Michigan State University

4.8
3,046 ratings
921 reviews

About this Course

If you love games and want to learn how to make them, then this course will start you down that path. Making games is a creative and technical art form. In this course you will familiarize yourself with the tools and practices of game development. You will get started developing your own videogames using the industry standard game development tools, including the Unity3D game engine and C#. At the end of the course you will have completed three hands-on projects and will be able to leverage an array of game development techniques to create your own basic games. This course is for individuals interested in becoming a game designer, game artist, or game programmer....

Top reviews

By SG

Feb 07, 2016

Very great course. The instruction is spot on, allowing me to listen while I work without the need to actually watch the video. Definitely worth it for novices and even intermediate level developers.

By AH

Nov 16, 2015

I enjoyed the course. Very fun playing with the Unity editor, and the assignments give you some freedom in how you tackle assignments. The class was fairly easy and doesn't need much time commitment.

Filter by:

894 Reviews

By Srilakshmi Anireddy

Feb 18, 2019

Vart useful

By Arya Nagarkar

Feb 14, 2019

Great awesome course. Learned a lot!!!!!!

By Clementine Fourrier

Jan 31, 2019

Good course. A good intro to the use of Unity3D for video game development. A lot of the code is already given, everything is easy to install, so no coding experience is necessary prior. The teacher is very calm and teaches well.

I would personnally have liked a bit more coding, but that's only me I guess.

By Sildo Nilo Garbin Neto

Jan 27, 2019

great

By Kristopher Charles Tobiasson

Jan 20, 2019

Really good, I wish there was some more coding as it was pretty basic in that respect, but the course gave me tools to streamline my workflow within the unity editor.

Cheers,

Kris

By Jose Luis Chavez Guerra

Jan 15, 2019

Realy nice course

By Daniyal Mahmood Sarwari

Jan 05, 2019

Very Informative and fun learning course. I really encourage beginners to enroll in this program who really want to learn game development

By Federico Ang

Dec 31, 2018

It's my very first course on Game Development, and I was very satisfied with everything that I was able to make: a solar system simulation, a rolling ball game, and a shooter. Can't wait to take the other courses in this specialization!

By Viren Parmar

Dec 29, 2018

It helped me a lot to learn and understand what is the difference between playing games and making games

By Dmitry Bogachev

Dec 26, 2018

Hello everybody who is reading my review of this great course! If you're interested in making video games and you've never worked with tools like Unity (just like me) I highly recommend to finish this course. And this is because of the following reasons: 1. Brian Winn is a great teacher who explains everything. I don't have any questions about what we've learnt, just want to know more :p 2. Three projects which you'll make in this course. For me they were pretty simple because almost (around 70-80%) every step was just a "copypaste" from Brian Winn's actions but there is great sense in it because you just need to have more experience in working with Unity what this course gains to you; 3. You're free to do whatever you want in each of your projects. For example, you make first level in the project and then the second level is all yours. That's really cool! So that's all! I guess this review helped you. Good luck everyone!