Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Game Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Game Development by Michigan State University

4.8
3,222 ratings
959 reviews

About the Course

If you love games and want to learn how to make them, then this course will start you down that path. Making games is a creative and technical art form. In this course you will familiarize yourself with the tools and practices of game development. You will get started developing your own videogames using the industry standard game development tools, including the Unity3D game engine and C#. At the end of the course you will have completed three hands-on projects and will be able to leverage an array of game development techniques to create your own basic games. This course is for individuals interested in becoming a game designer, game artist, or game programmer....

Top reviews

AH

Nov 16, 2015

I enjoyed the course. Very fun playing with the Unity editor, and the assignments give you some freedom in how you tackle assignments. The class was fairly easy and doesn't need much time commitment.

SG

Feb 07, 2016

Very great course. The instruction is spot on, allowing me to listen while I work without the need to actually watch the video. Definitely worth it for novices and even intermediate level developers.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 932 Reviews for Introduction to Game Development

By Rubens Y

Dec 23, 2015

Excellent intro to Unity and game development! Clear, concise, useful

By Toivo H

Oct 19, 2017

Excellent course! I learned a lot and it has truly "hard fun"! :D

By Kamran B

Feb 08, 2016

It was informative and had the right-level of difficulty.

By Felipe P B

Jun 13, 2017

This course is a very good introduction to game development. The classes are not that long but full of content. Brian is an amazing instructor and seems very passionate about game development. I totally recommend this to people that are not sure if they would enjoy developing games.

By Ole D J

Sep 05, 2016

Awesome!

By Tamir L

Sep 23, 2015

Great teacher, very organized and clear lectures, cool topic and a lot of fun!

By Timothy V

Nov 01, 2015

Great start for someone that has an understanding of computers and basic programming, but wants to get started in video game development. Didn't know anything about Unity or game design to begin.

By Kamil S

Dec 04, 2016

Great introduction. You can see how relatively easy it is to build your own game!

By Vaska C A

Nov 27, 2016

Great course, very useful introduction to game development!

By Isac d V O

Feb 03, 2016

This course is a brilliant introduction to game design. If you've got little or no experience in the area, or with Unity 3D, this is absolutely THE place to start. Congratulations to Professor Brian Winn and staff for the excellent work!

By Séadna S

Mar 20, 2017

Great intro course.

By Julio M C

Oct 11, 2015

hard fun!!!

By Stuart C

Sep 19, 2016

I highly recommend any of the courses given my this instructor. This was interesting and enjoyable.

By Ramon M L

Mar 10, 2016

This is a very good and complete course.

By Sharath K

Sep 06, 2017

Enjoyed building a game again. :)

By Jon P

Oct 19, 2015

Great class! Very informative and enjoyable. One of the best I've taken on Coursera.

By mohammed i

Oct 15, 2015

great course for everyone

By Erik K

Aug 16, 2016

Very good pace, sets you on a path to creating your own basic games using Unity in no time and also brushes upon scripting with C# which can make your games x times more interesting!

By Marcelo d F R

Feb 24, 2016

Great course for beginners in game development.

By Ammar a

Oct 07, 2015

I find this course interesting, knowledgeable and fun.

By Nikolaos B

Mar 18, 2016

Really enjoyed the course as it was full on unity dev

By Kulbhushan

Mar 12, 2017

This is the best course for a beginner to start working with Unity3D. The instructor had explained the concepts in a simple and precise manner. Thanks for this great course.

By René G

Apr 14, 2017

excellent course!

By Lindsay-Anne G

Jan 02, 2016

Very fun as an intro to Unity.

By hilton w

Mar 06, 2016

excellent course, well paced and a great introduction to game development