Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Game Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Game Development by Michigan State University

4.8
3,223 ratings
959 reviews

About the Course

If you love games and want to learn how to make them, then this course will start you down that path. Making games is a creative and technical art form. In this course you will familiarize yourself with the tools and practices of game development. You will get started developing your own videogames using the industry standard game development tools, including the Unity3D game engine and C#. At the end of the course you will have completed three hands-on projects and will be able to leverage an array of game development techniques to create your own basic games. This course is for individuals interested in becoming a game designer, game artist, or game programmer....

Top reviews

ML

Jul 22, 2019

Really great course! It was more challenging towards the end of it, but I enjoyed it and recommend it. I hope that my completing the course marked the start of my future as a game designer and maker.

AH

Nov 16, 2015

I enjoyed the course. Very fun playing with the Unity editor, and the assignments give you some freedom in how you tackle assignments. The class was fairly easy and doesn't need much time commitment.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 932 Reviews for Introduction to Game Development

By Pedro R

Jan 14, 2016

Amazing course, really gets you going with unity

By Blaine L

Apr 14, 2016

Excellent - Learned a lot! Great teacher.

By Benjamin G

Oct 02, 2017

This is an excellent introductory course to unity and game development. The videos show how quickly projects can be come complex depending on how much you want to customize them. Also within the videos are a bit of many different approaches and specializations necessary in game development.

By Дмитрий Б

Feb 19, 2016

This course is absolutely awesome! During 4 weeks I realized that there's no such fun as making games in the world! Also with the help of modern tools (like Unity game engine) it is very easy even for the beginners. You only have to focus on your ideas and the engine will take care of all the physics, visualization and interaction. It's absolutely amazing!

Thank's to Brian Winn and all the comunity!

By Miha K

Feb 28, 2016

Learned a whole lot!

Great community, helpful guides and an awesome instructor!

Count me in for more!

By Lucas P

Mar 06, 2016

Great introduction to real independent game design and production. It let you build games since day one.

By Jorge C C

Mar 09, 2016

Excellent course for people withought previous experience in Unity. I really enjoy it.

By Roque A M

Oct 31, 2015

Excellent !!! really useful and inspiring. Thank you!!!

By Benjamin M

Oct 30, 2015

Exactly what I've been looking for! And FREE!

By Kadambari S

Dec 30, 2015

loved it !!

awesome course,

Brian winn does a great job in explaining the concepts, very useful!!

By Sam H

Dec 08, 2015

Ever wondered how games are made ? After taking this course you will be able to make your very own video game.

Very hands on course with lots of practical assignments.

By Aleks K

Oct 08, 2015

The course is like. Very interesting learning.

Best regards!

By Piotr D

Oct 07, 2015

The Course id realy good design to the beginers. I'm enjoyed to create game in unity with the spiker.

By Vinicius V

Jan 25, 2016

Amazing! Everything is so well explained, Brian Winn does a great job teaching us the basics. 100% satisfied!

By vahid b

Jan 18, 2016

best teacher

best english :|

By Eduardo S

Nov 01, 2016

This course made me do three functioning games in Unity. My dreams are closer to being achieved. Thank you, Brian Winn.

By George W

Mar 22, 2016

Great for getting started in game development with Unity 3D!

I had a lot of fun with the assignments.

By Roselle C

Dec 25, 2017

Learnt a lot from this despite I'm already in the game dev industry, especially from scripting. Despite he went a little too fast in it, it gave me a starting point and I have some understanding of how to approach. Learnt a lot in terms of computer science which I didn't really learn in other sources. The project assignments could be improved, but the course is great overall.

By Alexandre S

Jun 14, 2016

Ótimo curso para iniciar na carreira de desenvolvedor de jogos.

By Davon H

Jan 01, 2016

A very good start for beginners, and informative to the experienced. Give the real online college feel and completed with real examples.

By Lukasz K

Jan 27, 2016

Hi, I had fun doing this course :) Having some experience in using Unity3D my main intention was to consolidate my knowledge, but I also learned a lot practical hints, that makes using unity even more efficient. BR

By Austin C

Jan 17, 2016

Very Informative, and educational. I most certainly recommend!

By Christina G D

Mar 10, 2016

Great Course! You learn a lot about Unity; for someone who has never used it before. I've tried to start with Unity from books and tutorials on my own, but I never got as far in the 4 weeks of this course. You make three basic games, which gives you all the basics of Unity. Very well worth taking this course, and the instruction/materials are superior.

By Daniel M

Mar 17, 2016

With this course I was able to teach some stuff to people that is already working with Unity3D.

By Crystal W

Apr 07, 2016

It really helped me understand Unity 3D and feel more capable in using it to create simple games. I can't wait to see what the other courses in the specialization will teach me. The instructor is very clear and easy to follow.