Chevron Left
Back to Principles of Game Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Principles of Game Design by Michigan State University

4.4
1,110 ratings
290 reviews

About the Course

You have a great idea for a game. Turning that idea into a reality isn't just about knowing the tools. In this course you will practice moving from game concept through design documentation, prototyping and testing. Numerous elements go into the overall process of game design. These range from topics such as idea generation, story, character, and game world development, game mechanics and level design, and user experience design. You will explore the process for designing meaningful experiences for your players. At the end of the course learners will have produced a game's high concept document, one page blueprint, a physical prototype, pitch and supporting design documentation to move from an idea in your head to a fleshed out design, ready for implementation....

Top reviews

JR

Mar 27, 2016

Great course!\n\nThought I wouldn't use the stuff that I learned in the videos at first, but as I started working on my own projects, I realised it was very important knowledge for a game developer.

MC

Apr 03, 2017

This course helps your game go from concept to reality. It pushed me to get a digital prototype made and ready to demo. Great depth of information related to game design and the gaming industry.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 276 Reviews for Principles of Game Design

By bruno m

Sep 17, 2017

Amazing experience!

I really enjoyed the time spent learning from this course and it definitely is gonna be a reference when I found trouble prototyping.

By Ji Q

Oct 04, 2016

Great Class, I have learned a lot stuff

By Alfredo H H

Sep 07, 2017

I really enjoy this course

By james G

Nov 02, 2016

Loaded with great information! Thanks!

By Jose C

Nov 24, 2015

Great course.

By István J

Feb 05, 2018

It was great! I learned a lot, I can recommend to everyone

By Samuel T

Mar 06, 2018

I think the course is well-structured, and it contains a lot of useful materials, I really liked it.

At the same time, I think, while it's easy to go through the course quickly and answer the questions, if the one is really interested in the topic, they need much more time than the description mentioned to read all the articles, to learn from them by applying them at work/in practice.

By Rajesh N

Mar 14, 2016

One of the best course i have taken and would recommend it to everyone who wish to start a carrier in Gaming.

By Yidi Z

Oct 04, 2016

It would be the best if the written feedback on assignments are compulsory. Currently it's sometimes difficult to get useful feedback

By Kyle D H

Jan 03, 2016

I wanted to take these courses to supplement my own university's Game Focus in Computer Science curriculum, and I got even more than I'd hoped for. This course is the perfect introduction to key game design concepts that most universities don't teach (as opposed to pure programming), and I'm certain that my ventures into game development as a career will be much smoother thanks to this course.

By Alan B S

Mar 02, 2016

A great course

By Kristina M

Jun 19, 2016

This course was a little stressful, but it seriously pays off. The instructor was excellent, he explains everything clearly and gave us quizzes and projects not only to do, but to really learn from. He discusses subjects that really are worth thinking about, if you are considering becoming a Game Designer. I highly recommend this course for avid learners and those that would love to work hands-on on projects that concern Game Design.

By Márlon P G

Feb 23, 2016

I really enjoyed this course, I learned a lot of thing that will help me to build better games and today I have a clear idea of the whole process of creating games. So I think that everybody that would like to build games, should do this course. Thanks to Coursera and Casey O'Donnell for providing this course.

By Debasis K

Mar 26, 2016

Awesome course for Game Designers

By Johnny N

Dec 03, 2015

Amazin course coverin a lot of info about Game Design really useful for every aspect of the Game industry.

By Amol N K

Feb 27, 2018

Amazing course! Well thought out lessons and great Instructor/Teacher. It let me start out better!

By Gabriel C

May 15, 2017

Excelente curso, aprendí y mejoré muchas habilidades referentes al diseño de videojuego de manera teórica y práctica.

By Ian L d C

Feb 08, 2018

I love games and now I know the Principles of Game Design!

Thank you Coursera,and also,Michigan Univesity!

I recommend all of you to make this course!

By jorge f s

May 12, 2017

Very good!! I learned a lot about game design and how to be professional. Thank you very much!

By Gaston

May 26, 2016

Very usefull and with great material to read

By Samuel S

Feb 21, 2016

Great course for fleshing out ideas. The only problem was the third assignment: making a prototype should take about a month, and we only had a few days to make one.

By Rafi u d

Jan 16, 2017

It was great opportunity of learning game development and designing process. I would like to recommend it highly to everyone who is interested in game development. It will boost your skills and concepts up to expert level.

By John L P I

Nov 05, 2016

Pros: Good lectures. The professor (Casey) provided a lot of interesting readings to supplement the discussions. Some of them were a bit on the scholarly side, but overall surprisingly interesting and informative. I also watched the documentary about indie game designers (Indie Game: The Movie) during this course and found it very helpful. Cons: I wish the quiz questions had explanations of why something was right or wrong.

By Lucas B

Nov 18, 2015

It's an excellent course!

By Andre P

Nov 16, 2015

This course is perfect to giver an overall view of what is a game designer. It has interesting articles and templates inside this course that will help you to give a direction. I recommend this course to everyone who dreams to enter in the game industry.