Chevron Left
Back to Game Design and Development Capstone

Game Design and Development Capstone, Michigan State University

4.7
132 ratings
36 reviews

About this Course

In the game design and development capstone, you will create an original game from initial concept through implementation and then launch it to the world! Along the way, you will have the opportunity to put your game ideas in front of your peers and for the best-of-the-best you will have the chance to get feedback from game industry professionals. The capstone experience gives you the opportunity to push your skills further and demonstrate your newfound skills as a game developer. The capstone also contains guest talks from game industry professionals at Riot Games, Deep Silver Volition, Iron Galaxy, Radiant Entertainment, Goodgame Studios, Stardock, GREE, Heart Shaped Games, Kongregate, and more....

Top reviews

By JT

Oct 04, 2016

Really enjoyed this Capstone! It was a nice challenge, and it really pushed me to create a game out of my own imagination! It was definitely a great experience that I enjoyed journeying through!

By CS

Aug 15, 2017

Tight schedule, but it's really pushing you move forward to next stage and finally ship you game.

Filter by:

36 Reviews

By Tobias Weh

Apr 22, 2018

Overall it's a great course. In this capstone project you're mostly on your own, utilizing what you've learned in the first four courses. The additional videos aren't directly helpful for your project, but motivating to keep working on the project. 8 weeks might not be much, especially for beginner developers, but if you don't overextend yourself when setting the scope for the game, it's doable.

The peer reviews worked fine for me, but other people had less than stellar experiences and I can see how it might not always be the best way to grade projects.

But at the end of this course you'll definitely have your own published game online for the world to see, which goes great with the certificate.

By Johnny Ahrens

Feb 21, 2018

Little time to make a complete game. Maybe a demo with one stage will be better.

By Elias Eloi

Nov 14, 2017

Great course

By Gabriel Chauriye

Nov 07, 2017

One of the best courses of game development ever! You go from the idea of a game, to create a game and finally publishing a game. The lectures are very helpful because the professionals come from different areas to give you a better understanding of the areas of game development.

By Alberto Alves da Silva Junior

Aug 29, 2017

awesome course thanks for you guys!

By Kenny Chan

Aug 22, 2017

My best chance to create my own game ahhahah!

By Khaled Kokah

Aug 16, 2017

exceptionally excellent course

By Chai Song

Aug 15, 2017

Tight schedule, but it's really pushing you move forward to next stage and finally ship you game.

By Leon Sandøy

Aug 13, 2017

I really enjoyed doing my project - but I cannot in good conscience give any real credit to this course for that. The course contains almost no useful information, and is instead littered with half-hearted webcam footage from people "in the industry".

Basically Courseras idea of exclusive paywall capstone content is to outsource the whole job to a bunch Windows Movie Maker-wielding twentysomethings and ask them to talk about their jobs. While a couple of these videos do seem genuinely motivated to be useful, none of them manage to say anything beyond the usual "work hard and be passionate" platitudes that you've heard a million times before.

If you're wondering whether the contents of this capstone are worth the price of admission, the answer is a resounding "absolutely not".

By Mohamed Ahmed Eldfrawy

Aug 06, 2017

u will get a real experince about making a game from scratch starting from game idea untill u shipping it , u will face some problems but u will handle it , u will improve your programming skills using c# according to your game