Chevron Left
Back to Game Development for Modern Platforms

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Game Development for Modern Platforms by Michigan State University

4.8
656 ratings
134 reviews

About the Course

The device or "platform" that a game is developed for and played on has a massive impact on the game development process. In this hands-on course you will explore how to develop a game for a variety of modern platforms, including Web, Windows, Mac OS X, iOS, and Android. While building a complete game, you will learn intermediate and advanced game development techniques in the Unity game engine. By the end of the course, you will understand how to develop, refine, package, and prepare your game for distribution on a variety of game platforms. Particular attention will be given to developing a 2D platformer game that supports multiple forms of input (keyboard/mouse, controller, and touch), works across multiple forms of output (screen size, screen resolution, sound), and performs well on a variety of computing devices....

Top reviews

BJ

Apr 26, 2019

Great lectures from Brian Winn: very clear and his assets very clear as well an organized. It will be very good to complement the lectures with a short document summarizing the theory.

JW

Jan 19, 2016

This course was a blast! It dived a bit deeper into Unity compared to "Introduction to Game Development", the course outline and steps worked great and I learned a lot.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 125 Reviews for Game Development for Modern Platforms

By Alex A

Dec 12, 2018

Great lectures and engaging professor; however, you're basically just paying for video lectures since the course admins/mentors seem inactive.

By ALIAKSEI P

Aug 14, 2018

All courses would have been 5-star if the assignments were checked by tutors and not by peers.

By Ivan F

Jul 23, 2018

Great course for learning Unity, but if you already know programming, then C# code quality might look not good.

By Lois C

Aug 24, 2016

This class (the fourth in the specialization) required a different version of Unity 3D in order to complete (compared to the first course in the specialization). Using a borrowed laptop, I was not permitted to upgrade to a new version by laptop owner. Signing up for the 5-course specialization and paying in advance was a ripoff since the software requirements changed in between course 3 and 4. Coursera gives no refunds for a 5-course specialization if you have completed the first course.

By andraž g

Feb 26, 2019

The best module here. I really enjoyed it.

By Pep S M

Aug 03, 2018

Excellent examples and explanations.

By Ian L d C

Jul 18, 2018

Um curso muito bom! Tenho aprendido bastante a fazer coisas tão simples no Unity,mas que realmente ajudam de maneira significativa!

By vikramaditya g

Oct 02, 2018

Brian Winn sir is at his best.. excellent

By Ali A K G

Nov 05, 2018

it's a good course to learn about the different platforms you can build on and it shows you the different aspects of the game development.

By Armando M d S S

Feb 02, 2018

Very nice

By Alex Z

Jan 19, 2016

Great course. I learned a ton!

By Vignesh R

Mar 30, 2018

Excellent course that covers even advanced topics

By Jeffery S

Sep 28, 2017

Awesome

By Hernan C

Nov 01, 2016

The course was a fun trip, I've enjoyed the design aspect of it.

By Mugammad A J

Mar 01, 2016

This course is a real level up from the other courses. You go back to Unity with the base understanding of how games need to be constructed from beginning till end, and with that in mind, develop a 2D game from scratch. I was thoroughly impressed, and as always the lecturer was awesome. Thanks Brian.

By redzhep m

Dec 27, 2015

I learn a lot of new stuff

By claudio b

Jan 13, 2016

Very good hands-on course. It is giving me very good bases and pushes to further study Unity3D.

By Carlos H J

Oct 10, 2016

Great Course! Exactly what I need.

By Adeel Z

Dec 29, 2015

Very Informative course. Excellent Walk through . Unfortunately I was unable to complete the course due to busy schedule

By Krut P

Mar 15, 2016

It's what i was looking for :D

By Steve B

Nov 09, 2017

great way to learn unity

By Esteban P

Mar 30, 2017

I love this course and all the knowledge it contains.

By Tamilarasu S

Oct 23, 2017

2D game development and advanced unity tips and tricks explained nicely.

By rafael m d s

Feb 03, 2016

Amazing!

By Johan R

Mar 27, 2016

Very nice course, I learned a lot about Unity throughout this course and some key aspects you need to know to make a game!