Chevron Left
Back to Gender and Sexuality: Diversity and Inclusion in the Workplace

Gender and Sexuality: Diversity and Inclusion in the Workplace, University of Pittsburgh

4.6
138 ratings
36 reviews

About this Course

What is sex? What is gender? What is sexuality? What do we mean by LGBTQIA? How are these concepts related to the workplace? How have our understandings of these terms changed over time, and how have these changes impacted work and culture? To help you answer these important questions, this course will introduce you to the exciting field of gender, sexuality, and women's studies, and to LGBTQIA identities. We will use a range of interdisciplinary concepts, tools, and methods to understand and analyze how identity shapes our experiences in culture and in the workplace. Because we all live with gender expectations, this course is crucial for any profession, and for understanding the world around us. Also, you will learn key concepts that will help you to interpret and understand the world we share....

Top reviews

By AD

Jan 26, 2018

Short but a beautifully concise course on understanding gender and sexuality. It also gives one tools to make the workplace an inclusive environment for LGBTQIA, and eradicate discrimination.

By BS

Feb 05, 2018

Get to hear about LGBTQIA* community and how they are critical in the workforce. You learn about resources to use in the workforce and ways to make the workforce more diverse and inclusive.

Filter by:

35 Reviews

By Timcy Thomas

Apr 11, 2019

A very insightful course

By Craig Cameron

Mar 19, 2019

Lectures lacked academic rigor and held ideas up as indisputable facts. The peer review sytsem is disappointing. Especially whent here is no recourse over glaring mistakes in grading.

While I learned somethings from the course I would not recommend it.

By Vinothraj

Mar 06, 2019

Have learn on the Gender and Sexuality in detail. Why inclusion is required on workplace and how do we included in our society, Corporate cultur

By Meret Philip

Mar 04, 2019

This is a really well conducted course and i will recommend it anytime. Help me to have meaningful dialogue on the subject.

By Maria Colomo

Feb 28, 2019

Great course with fantastic study materials

By Nicole Gendron

Feb 26, 2019

The videos were a great teaching tool!

By maria pons

Feb 13, 2019

very useful tools, tropes and readings to discuss, analyze and develope inclusive strategies at workplace. Raise awareness on gender/sex identities through plain concepts and data

By Jeremy Mwenesi

Jan 15, 2019

Wonderful course would easily recommend it to colleagues and students entering any fields of study. Took a lot from this course and again would recommend it to anyone whose looking to improve there ability to be human in this world.

By ammar alli

Dec 28, 2018

The course is a rights movement rather than an academic approach towards the topic.The instructors use a nice language to discuss the issues but present them in a bias way which is the reason I don't feel like it's an academic course.

By Val

Dec 23, 2018

Even though this course is in the Social Sciences section there is more art than science in it. Most of the statements made in this course don't provide relevant research proving their validity. For example, one of the linked articles in the course mentions that homophobia at workplace decreases productivity, but no link to proof is provided. It would be great to have the link to this research, so that we can, for example, compare the cost of productivity decline caused by homophobia with cost of anti-homophobia training. Without this proof the rest of the course loses its value and the whole existence of this course feels redundant - why should I spend a lot of my resources on getting opinions of random people about this topic if I can get it for free by googling relevant keywords? It being a course implies a higher level of scientific research done and linked than the one provided.