Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started with Essay Writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting Started with Essay Writing by University of California, Irvine

4.7
1,537 ratings
422 reviews

About the Course

Course 2: Getting Started with Essay Writing This is the second course in the Academic English: Writing specialization. By introducing you to three types of academic essays, this course will especially help prepare you for work in college classes, but anyone who wants to improve his or her writing skills can benefit from this course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - create effective thesis statements for your essays - plan and write compare/contrast, cause/effect, and argument essays - write well-developed body paragraphs Note: The lectures and practice activities are available for free, but you must upgrade to the pay version in order to take the quizzes and get feedback on writing assignments....

Top reviews

B

Nov 17, 2015

Thank you for teaching me how to write basic essays. This has been one of my most important goals for years. I've tried several other ways of learning but your method worked for me. Thank you so much.

EB

Dec 05, 2015

I am only on the second week an have done my essay and feel very powerful. English is not my first language but the instructor made it easy for me by detailing every aspect of essay writing. Thank you

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 421 Reviews for Getting Started with Essay Writing

By Siyuan P

Jun 02, 2019

I love this course so much, for it is an introduction for a non-native English speaker to learn academic writing. I will definitely learn the entire specialization! Big thanks to the lecturers.

By Sheheryar K

May 27, 2019

Excellent short course. It covers the necessary things and is helpful overall.

By Julian B

May 25, 2019

Great

By Aram S

Oct 22, 2016

I liked the course very much. It extended my knowledge about essay writing a lot. Also, I got many useful feedback from peer-reviewed assignments. Thank you to the instructor and to the classmates.

By Bruna C

Mar 30, 2016

Course has great material and I do like how the teacher explains the topics. I wish course was fully free so I could have the chance to write my essays and get them reviewed.

By Elvis F A

Jun 17, 2019

Very explicit.

By Oluwasegun p I

Jun 04, 2019

Insightful, I learnt well about essays and their layout

By Natalia A L

Jun 03, 2019

When checking some of the reading exercises that open in a new tab, I noticed I don't have permissions to see the contents of them. Suggested to check a better way to share these contents with the students.

By Andrés R C

Jun 03, 2019

Aprendí bastante en este curso sobre como escribir, los ensayos que hice fueron muy complejos para mi y la retroalimentación mía y de mis compañeros me ayudó a ver errores comunes. Tomense en serio el curso y aprenderán bastante.

By Mohammd z a

May 07, 2019

it was unforgettable course, and help me so much to write essay.

thank you.

By Chieko T

May 06, 2019

It's a very useful course; however, peer graded system doesn't work well because we have few peers. On the other hand, Edx has a staff graded system which works very well. Coursera should reconsidered the peer graded system

By Katherine G

Apr 26, 2019

Very good course. I don't think the repetition of information is necessary therefore I am giving 4 stars instead of 5. The rest of the aspects are perfect.

By HOONKI Y

Apr 22, 2019

Thank you.

By María C M

Apr 17, 2019

Great course!!!

By amjad a

Apr 12, 2019

Splendid course in order to familiar with writings. Those who are interested in writings must take this course.

By Wusherry

Apr 11, 2019

It is a nice course for new learners~!

By 姚娇娇

Apr 03, 2019

I have studied a lot,thanks for everyone

By Gustavo P

Apr 02, 2019

Very good course. Really helpful.

By Anwar R

Mar 28, 2019

Don't charge for the quizzes please. :D

By Ana R

Mar 24, 2019

Easy to follow; nicely formatted.

By Marwa R A

Mar 19, 2019

Thanks, coursera community! This course is very rich, useful and it is a great help to me.

By Caitlin C

Mar 11, 2019

I feel it was good for the basics but it needs to be made more clear that this is really JUST getting started. It has no reference to how to write essays under a time limit and I would say it is quite unhelpful for UK students (I don't know about elsewhere out of the US). I don't really like the peer review system as people were unfair and then gave rude comments or just untrue/ unhelpful advice.

By Ibrahim a

Mar 11, 2019

I'm really thankful to all the instructors who gave and shared their effort and background.

By Berenice R A

Mar 07, 2019

This course really gave skills for essay writing. It makes writing much more easy!

By Miguel

Mar 03, 2019

It was good. Adapted for beginner. I think the apps need improvements as some of the activities do not work when working in the Ipad.