Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of GIS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of GIS by University of California, Davis

4.8
2,600 ratings
726 reviews

About the Course

Explore the world of spatial analysis and cartography with geographic information systems (GIS). In this class you will learn the basics of the industry’s leading software tool, ArcGIS, during four week-long modules: Week 1: Learn how GIS grew from paper maps to the globally integrated electronic software packages of today. You will install ArcGIS on your computer and learn how to use online help to answer technical questions. Week 2: Open up ArcGIS and explore data using ArcMap. Learn the foundational concepts of GIS, how to analyze data, and make your first map. Week 3: Make your own maps! Symbolize data and create an eye-catching final product. Week 4: Share your data and maps and learn to store and organize your data. Take Fundamentals of GIS as a standalone course or as part of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Specialization. By completing the first class in the Specialization you will gain the skills needed to succeed in the full program. Students who need an ArcGIS license will receive a non-commercial, 1 year student license for participation in this course and specialization....

Top reviews

BJ

Dec 28, 2018

the content is awesome. i would recommend it to those who need to have some basic knowledge of GIS. it's very easy to learn the ArcGIS because of the instructions and demos given by the instructor.

KF

Dec 22, 2018

Well developed course, everything leads you up to a final assignment that helps test what you've learned and gives you a great general idea of some of the cool things you can do with ArcGIS.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 694 Reviews for Fundamentals of GIS

By Mezbah u B

Aug 02, 2016

It is a great course for both the beginner and the professionals in GIS . Very friendly and easy language for the people who don't understand English much ...Satisfied in doing this course.

By Ya-Yin Y

Mar 06, 2019

Very helpful course for an absolute GIS beginner. It provides some of the most important concept and information for me to get some sense of the operating of the system and getting used to the software. The assignments and final project definitely helped me gain some hands-on experiences of how GIS workd practically. Highly recommend for anyone who would like to learn GIS!

By Young S S

Feb 25, 2019

This is my first exposure to ArcGIS. Mr. Nick Santo explained various concepts and skills very nicely, which was incredibly helpful when I was doing my final project. Since there were so many precedures that I needed to follow in order to conduct specific tasks, I sometimes had to go back to his videos and re-watched them to have better guidance, but that helped me finish the project on time. By getting involved in the project, I felt that I learned a lot. Before doing the project, it appeared that the information and procedures were all scattered here and there on my part, but with the project, I could finally put those together and synthesize them. It was a great learning experience for me. Thank you so much for offering this valuable course!!!

By Jan S

Feb 21, 2019

I learned a lot from this course. The emphasis is on learning how to use the software so you can start working quickly. I highly recommend doing all the optional assignments in the textbook.

By Lindsey T

Feb 15, 2019

This course taught me what I needed to know to start exploring my spatial data. This course starts at the very beginning and is great for fully developing a foundation for future courses but also provides enough content to get started with.

By D P W

Sep 05, 2018

Great course for fundamentals of GIS. Online format makes it easy to review lectures and go back to them and pause step by step if needed; assignments are clear and well designed to give you instruction and practice on skills. I last worked on ArcMap about 10 years ago and the good part here was that I was able to review and see that the basic skills and tools have not changed much, and it's a great refresher course, and I look forward to seeing the new advanced tools that are available!

By Michael M

Jul 20, 2019

Well presented and easy to understand. Completing this course gives one a working knowledge of GIS.

By Joel M D

Jul 16, 2019

Excellent beginner course. All course materials were very informative, level appropriate, and designed well to move you along towards achieving a realistic yet satisfying level of entry level proficiency.

By David C

Jul 15, 2019

Very organized course. Material is logically and succinctly presented in manner that supports the completion of the final project.

By Muhammad F Z

Jul 14, 2019

I have learned the basic skills of GIS software which are gonna very helpful in my future career.

By SHREYA O

Jul 13, 2019

Great Course to brush up your skills on ArcGIS. Its a beginner course so even if you are not familiar with the software you can easily cope up. Explanation by Dr. Nicholas Santos was crisp and to the point. He made the course seems like a cake walk. Thank You to the coursera team for the noble initiative of opening barriers to education from top notch institutions to people across the world.

-SHREYA OJHA

By Arthur J B C P

Jul 08, 2019

Goog plataform, good classes, good avaliations. I just felt that we could have more excercices.

By Nishant b

Jul 07, 2019

A wonderful course for getting started into world of GIS. Thank you Coursera, UC Davis,Nick Santos

By Monika M

Jul 06, 2019

Amazing course, I am doing a PhD in GIS and this basically covers all the major themes and concept, while providing knowledge in practice. Great course!

By Jafed E

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

By Pranav B

Jun 19, 2019

Fantastic instructor. Wholesome content, assignments are very specific with ample screenshots. Everything is explained clearly and excellent resources are provided.

By Nicholas W

Jun 18, 2019

A great introduction to GIS. This was a completely new are area of study for me and the clear layout of course materials and guidance were a great help.

By Kenney K K

Jun 13, 2019

Great Course

By Mahmoud E E

May 29, 2019

great

By Jose B

May 29, 2019

Overall this course provided an excellent introduction to the topic and enables the learner to begin using the most prevalent GIS software tool effectively at a basic level. Looking forward to the next course in the sequence.

By Austin D

May 23, 2019

This course was great for a first time GIS student. The content level was just right, it introduced me to ArcGIS and showed me how it works, and ultimately, what it does. The course allowed me to take things at my own pace (while keeping me on track) as well as provide labs at the end of each week to practice the skills learned. Nice work!

By Nathan F

May 22, 2019

Great introductory course to basic concepts and use of ArcGIS

By Maile G

May 15, 2019

This was a great introductory course that covered a lot of material. The assignments were very helpful. Thank you!

By Oksana T

May 15, 2019

Although I have taken GIS courses in college, I always felt like my knowledge was not complete.. Fundamentals of GIS helped me bridge some of my knowledge together. I look forward to completing this specialization.

By Gabriela G B F

May 14, 2019

This course is very engaging and complete. Perfect for beginners. The contents are thorough, but not overly complicated and the book recommended for practicing is very helpful.