Chevron Left
Back to Theatre and Globalization

Theatre and Globalization, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU)

4.7
63 ratings
18 reviews

About this Course

Learn how theatre and globalization have affected each other over the past century, and how to conduct your own research on global theatre histories....
Filter by:

17 Reviews

By Manuel Alejandro Cárdenas Cuevas

Dec 12, 2018

El curso ofrece una visión bastante optimista de los procesos de globalización. En términos generales, contiene una visión del mundo liberal que en muchos sentidos oculta zonas oscuras que la globalización ha producido; sin embargo, es cierto que la hibridación, el sincretismo y la comunicación entre las diferentes culturas (artistas de distintas zonas culturales) son hechos innegables que han alimentado y desarrollado la cultura humana, y que es en el arte, en este caso, el teatro, en donde los procesos de desterritorialización, modernidad y conectividad surgen para crear estrategias de apropiación y reapropiación del otro y/o los otros. Gracias.

This course offers a rather optimistic view of globalization processes. In general terms, it contains a liberal worldview that in many ways conceals dark areas that globalization has produced; however, it is true that hybridization, syncretism and communication between different cultures (artists from different cultural areas) are undeniable facts that have nurtured and developed human culture, and that in this case, theater , where the processes of deterritorialization, modernity and connectivity arise to create strategies of appropriation and reappropriation of the other and / or others. Thank you.

By Ping Shi Kao

Nov 26, 2018

This was my first course on coursera. I was very impressed by the curriculum and lessons given by Professor Balme. I am glad that I discovered this course, which provides a wide range of useful research methods and resources for my PhD project.

By Eldon Cline

Jun 25, 2018

The majority of material presented is done so in a variety of ways that keep the course moving forward.

By Michal J Pasternak

Jun 19, 2018

Interesting and challenging material which provokes reflection on the past and future of world theatre traditions and how migration, modernity and connectivity influences the development and evolution of the arts over time and space.

By Gina Jackson

Jun 13, 2018

I LOVED this course! Plans are to visit the university in the near future!

By Daniel Hayes

Jun 11, 2018

The course was extremely informative and actually inspired a vested interested in theatrical preservation. As a burgeoning theatrical storyteller, this course was extremely helpful in framing my own course of future graduate study and professional development. It was also quite user-friendly and though I felt connected to other students I did not rely on them to complete the course as is the case with several other courses on this platform. Thank you!

By David Stephen Manson

Apr 23, 2018

This was a very insightful course and I am very pleased to have done it.

By Kat Keljik

Feb 18, 2018

This was a great course and has inspired me to go study and learn more about this topic on my own. The only glitchy part of the course was some of the questions mid-video. Otherwise, it was a well planned, well delivered, and interesting course. Thanks, Prof Balme!

By Allie Tichenor

Feb 08, 2018

Great introduction to globalized theatre. My one wish would be that the course included more on theatre during the war. I was curious about what role, if any, did organizations such as the USO and the ENSA (organizations to provide live entertainment for troops stationed abroad) play in the transition from theatre as commercial enterprise to theatre as a public good to be sponsored by the state? And what impact, if any, did these organizations have on the globalization of theatre.

By Gabi Reichardt

Jan 09, 2018

Thank you for this informative and interesting course!

I can recommend it to everyone who is interested in theatre! Besides we learned a lot about theatre history, globalization and curent developments, we were also asked to find out something about theatres in our local area which was realiy interesting for me.

Looking forward to your next MOOC about theatre!