Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started with Go

Getting Started with Go, University of California, Irvine

4.6
207 ratings
54 reviews

About this Course

Learn the basics of Go, an open source programming language originally developed by a team at Google and enhanced by many contributors from the open source community. This course is designed for individuals with previous programming experience using such languages as C, Python, or Java, and covers the fundamental elements of Go. Topics include data types, protocols, formats, and writing code that incorporates RFCs and JSON. Most importantly, you’ll have a chance to practice writing Go programs and receive feedback from your peers. Upon completing this course, you'll be able to implement simple Go programs, which will prepare you for subsequent study at a more advanced level....

Top reviews

By KB

Jan 19, 2019

Amazing how much of a difference good teaching makes. The content is really well explained and easy to follow. I understand not only Go but all software languages much better now.

By NP

Sep 18, 2018

I have done other courses on Golang from the internet. However, I was looking for a course with assignments and quizzes and this one was quite useful in that respect

Filter by:

55 Reviews

By Kyrylo Koshil

Feb 20, 2019

This course helps to get a taste of Go, but I have a feeling it lacks a bit of structure. The course jumps from one topic to another without clear reason, and there's seemingly no connection between subsequent topics.

By Michael Wimberley

Feb 12, 2019

Great teacher! Very useful information for people with knowledge of other languages trying to jump into Go

By Alessandro Ludovici

Feb 08, 2019

The instruction of some of the tasks could have been more clear and less ambiguous (e.g a String of 20 characters on Week 4 task).

By Ivan Bunin

Jan 28, 2019

The course is quite short and informative, and quite fast-paced because of it. This is good. The downside is that in some of course tasks the description is quite misleading and there is no feedback from the creators.

By Jheison Leonardo Rodriguez Marquez

Jan 28, 2019

Great Course

By Aditya Singh

Jan 27, 2019

Very good course for beginners.

By 壹叶随心

Jan 25, 2019

That's great.

By Harshavardhan Reddy Kundavaram

Jan 24, 2019

I have audited this course. The explanation is very crisp. All the concepts were covered clearly. Assignments are challenging and I found them interesting. Must take course for beginners. I have given 4* as I felt the author must have emphasised a little bit more on methods(at least introduction on their working) as some assignments required their understanding. I felt that to be a miss.

By Donguk Lim

Jan 23, 2019

I think it would have been more convinient if the coding assigntments were graded automatically.

By Leam Hall

Jan 22, 2019

I enjoyed the class. The instructor presents well and is easy to listen to. The course is not for a beginner programmer! Most of the measurable objectives (quizzes and coding assignments) require more than just watching the videos. Still, if you already code in a C based language (C, Perl, Python, Ruby, etc) and can look things up you should do well.