Chevron Left
Back to Grammar and Punctuation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Grammar and Punctuation by University of California, Irvine

4.7
7,182 ratings
2,118 reviews

About the Course

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Top reviews

R

Oct 09, 2017

Hi, Learn the basic of the English grammar and the rules on writing, which so important to writing. Enjoyed and learn so much that will help overcome fear writing.\n\nThank You, Again\n\nRobert Perea

DV

Nov 12, 2015

I am very satisfied with this course. It really helped me to improve my writing skills, and I am feeling more confident than I used to be.\n\nAfter this course, I am planning to take up the next one.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 2,151 Reviews for Grammar and Punctuation

By Shelli S

May 24, 2019

This course is a great little course. I loved the instructor, who I found to be articulate and engaging.

I found the guidance on sentence structure and parallel sentences, constructive and beneficial. So, thanks!

By Katherine G

Apr 26, 2019

This course is absolutely amazing by all means. It has good and specific and accurate information regarding punctuation and grammar in English. The focus and the way the information is presented is excellent too. I have no negative comments for this course. Excellent! 5 stars.

By Valmy P

Nov 23, 2018

This Grammar and Punctuation course should be taken by anyone who is interested in professional writings.

By Kriti G

Dec 26, 2016

This is a very useful course even if you are very good in English . This course helps in understanding the type of sentences, proper usage of commas and perfect ways of writing attractive paragraphs.

By Carolina T

Jun 22, 2016

You should tell people before they enroll that, to take the quizzes, they must pay. It was a waste of time...

By Ana C R A

Apr 26, 2016

The course is great, but I am very disappointed that after spend 3 hours watching the videos and practicing, I can only submit my answer if I upgrade. This should be said before I enrolled in this course.

By Simone P F

Jul 20, 2019

Excellent!!!!

By Reham M I

Jul 20, 2019

This course is very beneficial; it contains a lot of valuable and applicable information that would help anyone improve their writing.

By Sa'adat D

Jul 18, 2019

The course is really great and helpful. I really appreciate everything the professors learnt.

By ZHANG B

Jul 17, 2019

fine

By subrat k d

Jul 17, 2019

i like this course

By Ayush k

Jul 17, 2019

SDFDZC

By Savkin D

Jul 16, 2019

Thank you very much for creating this course! It has given me such more knowledge in writing. Simple language, that is easy for understanding, makes completing this course faster.

I would advise to add some more tests for fixation these information!

By Ira S

Jul 15, 2019

It was a nice course. Very refreshing!

By Xin J

Jul 15, 2019

Too simple.

By Praveen E

Jul 14, 2019

You writing looks great if you follow these steps shown in the course.

By MINQI C

Jul 14, 2019

I think for the homework part could be more challenge, and some of the exercise pages could not be opened. Overall, it is a great course, and I recommended.

By sinem

Jul 14, 2019

The exercices didn't work ,and I could not do them

By Fatma M M

Jul 12, 2019

It is really useful course presented in organized style.

By DEBOPRIO R S

Jul 12, 2019

This helped me a lot in upgrading my writing skills.

By Hams e

Jul 12, 2019

Nice

By Jingjing H

Jul 11, 2019

This is a good start for English writing practice. Thank you!

By Atif M

Jul 10, 2019

The course at it's best!

By nelson v

Jul 10, 2019

good organization!

By Ibrahim A A K

Jul 09, 2019

excellent